Delete Elements From Your Model

You can delete elements from your model, working either from the Project Browser or from a diagram.

When you delete an element from your model, the element, its properties and any child elements or diagrams it contains are all deleted.
The deleted element is removed from all diagrams on which it appears
All relationships that it was involved in are also deleted from the model.

Delete one or more items from your model using the Project Browser

Step

Action

See also

1

In the Project Browser, click on an item to select it.

To select additional items, or to remove items from the selection, use ( Ctrl+Click ) or ( Shift+Click ).

The selected items are highlighted in the Project Browser.

 

 

2

Either:

Press ( Ctrl+Delete ) or
Right-click on one of the selected elements, then select the Delete selected item(s) context menu option

 

A confirmation dialog is displayed.

 

 

3

Click on the Yes button.

The selected items are deleted from your model.

 

 

 

Delete one or more items from your model using a diagram

Step

Action

See also

1

To open the diagram containing the items to be deleted from your model, either:

Double-click on the diagram name in the Project Browser, or
Make an already open diagram the 'active' diagram, by clicking on its tab in the Diagram View

 

 

2

Either:

Press ( Ctrl+A )  to select all of the elements in the diagram, or
Click on an element in the diagram to select it, then use ( Ctrl+Click ) to add or remove specific elements to and from the selection

 

The selected elements are highlighted in the diagram.

 

 

3

Press ( Ctrl+Delete ).

A confirmation dialog is displayed.

 

 

4

Click on the Yes button.

The selected elements are removed from the model.

 

 

Notes

Deleting a package completely removes the package and all its contents - diagrams, child packages and elements - from the model
Deleting an element completely removes the element and its properties, connectors, child elements and child diagrams from the model, and from every diagram that contains it
Deleting a diagram completely removes the diagram from the model, but not the diagram's component elements; they remain in the parent package