Lock Objects Under User/Group Locking

Under the User/Group Locking security policy, if you need to set or release a lock on an element or diagram, you can do so from either the Project Browser or from within the diagram.

Access     Select one of:

Project Browser | right-click on diagram | Lock
Project Browser | right-click on element | Lock
Diagram | right-click on diagram background | Lock or
Diagram | right-click on element | Lock

Set a lock on an element or diagram

Step

Action

See also

1

On the Lock Element or Lock Diagram dialog, in the Lock Type panel, select the radio button for the required option:

No lock - do not set a lock on this object; clear any existing lock that you have set, or clear any Full lock that other users have set
Full lock - lock this object so that no-one can edit it without specifically clearing the lock
User lock - lock this object so that only you can make further edits; other users cannot unlock or edit the object
Group lock - lock this object so that any member of the specified group (below) can edit the object; other users cannot unlock or edit the object

 

 

2

If you have selected the Group lock option, in the GroupID field click on the drop-down arrow and select the group containing users that can edit the object.

 

 

3

Click on the OK button.

 

 

Notes

To check whether the project security is in User/Group locking mode, select Project | Security; the Require User Lock to Edit option should be deselected
You must have Lock Elements permission to lock an element or diagram
If the item already has a lock, only the corresponding lock option and the No lock option are highlighted; you have to release the lock in order to set a different type of lock
If a diagram is locked and you select an element on it, the element border displays in red, indicating that you cannot move it or resize it
If an element is locked and you click on it on a diagram, the element border displays in black; you can display the properties but not change them
If you select the Full Lock , no-one may edit option, a red exclamation mark displays against the object in the Project Browser
If you select the User Lock, locking user may still edit or Group lock, locking group may still edit options, a blue exclamation mark displays against the object in the Project Browser; other users see a red exclamation mark

Learn more