Track Changes

In a team environment, two or more people might work on developing documents and/or templates. You might, therefore, need to review each other's work, or just be able to see what changes another person has made to the file. In the RTF editor, you can turn on change tracking to highlight the changes you make to the text.

Access    Select Edit | Track Changes from the menu bar at the top of the Document Editor window, or right-click and select Edit | Track Changes within either:
 
                 -  The Content panel of the Document Template Designer or
                 -  The text area of the document

Tracking options

To

Action

See also

Turn tracking on

Select the Track Changes | Enable Tracking menu option.

Any changes made after Tracking is turned on are immediately highlighted:

Inserted text - printed in a different color
Deleted text - struck through with a single colored line
Formatting changes - indicated by a colored dotted underline

 

A change bar is also inserted in the page or column margin to indicate the line on the page on which the change was made.

If you mouse over a highlighted change, a tooltip displays the type of change, the name of the person who made the change, and the date and time the change was made.

 

 

Turn tracking off

Select the Track Changes | Enable Tracking menu option again.

Any changes made after Tracking was turned on remain highlighted, but changes made after tracking was turned off are not highlighted.

 

 

Hide changes

If you want to review the document as it is, without the highlighted changes, but you do not want to lose the changes or highlighting, select Track Changes | Hide Changes menu option.

The highlighted additions and deletions are hidden, and the remaining text closes up. Format changes are not hidden.

To expose the hidden changes, click on the Track Changes | Hide Changes menu option again.

 

 

Locate changes

Select the Track Changes | Find Next Change menu option or the Track Changes |  Find Previous Change menu option to search the text and place the cursor on the next or previous change made, respectively.

 

 

Respond to change

If you want to assess each change and act on your decision, select the:

Track Changes | Accept Change menu option to confirm the change, or
Track Changes |  Reject  Change menu option to reverse the change to the original text or format

In either case, the change tracking markings are removed. You can make further changes if you wish.

 

 

Accept all changes

If you are not assessing each change, for example if you just want to see what a colleague has done before making your own changes, you can accept all changes across the document in one action.

Select the Track Changes | Accept All Changes menu option.

 

 

Reject all changes

If you are not assessing each change, but just want to reverse all changes across the document in one action, select the Track Changes | Reject All Changes menu option.

A prompt displays for you to confirm the action; click on the Yes button.

You might do this if, for example, you or a colleague have edited the wrong version of a document or acted on a technical change that was itself reversed.