Scripts Tab

Access     Tools | Scripting > Scripts

Topics

Topic

Detail

See also

Usage

The Scripts tab is composed of a toolbar and a view of all scripts according to group.

To execute a script, press ( Ctrl )  while you double-click on the script name.

To write or edit a user script, double-click on the script name to display the Script Editor; this usually displays a script template, determined by the user group type as assigned on creation or on the Script Group Properties dialog.

You can move or copy a script from one user scripts folder to another; to:

Move a script, highlight it in the Scripts tab and drag it into the user scripts folder it now belongs to
Copy a script, highlight it in the Scripts tab and press ( Ctrl )  while you drag it into the user scripts folder in which to duplicate it

 

Script Group Properties

 

Script Editor

Context Menus

The script groups and their scripts also have context menus that provide some or all of the following options:

Group Properties - to display or edit script group properties in the Script Group Properties dialog
Run Script - to execute the selected script
Edit Script - to update the selected script
Rename Script - to change the name of the selected group or script
New VBScript/JScript/JavaScript - add a new script to the selected user group
Import Workflow Script - to display the Browser dialog through which you locate and select a workflow script source (.vbs) file to import into the Workflow script folder
Delete Group/Script - to delete the selected user group or script

 

 

 
Script Group Properties

 

The Scripts tab toolbar provides the following options:

Script Toolbar

Icon

Action

See also

NewScriptGroup

Create a new script group; this option displays a short menu of the types of script group you can create, namely:

Normal Group (newNormalGroup)
Project Browser Group (newProjBrowserGroup)
Diagram Group (newDiagramGroup)
Workflow Group (newWorkflorGroup)
Search Group (newSearchGroup)
Model Search Group

 

The new group is added to the end of the list in the Scripting window, with the 'New group' text highlighted so that you can type in the group name.

 

 

CreateNewScript

Create a new script file in the selected script group; displays a short menu of the types of script you can create, namely:

VBScript (VBScript)
JScript (Jscript)
JavaScript (Javascript)

 

The new script is added to the end of the list in the selected group, with the 'New script' text highlighted so that you can type in the script name.

 

 

RefreshScript

Refresh the script tree in the Scripting window; this icon also reloads any changes made to a workflow script.

 

 

Runscript

Compile and execute the selected script.

The output from the script is written to the Script tab of the Output window, which you display using the View Script Output button (below).

 

 

Stopscript

Stop an executing script; the icon is disabled if no script is executing.

 

 

DeleteScript

Delete a script from the model; you cannot use this icon to delete a script group (see the Context Menu item above), scripts in the Local Scripts group, or a script that is executing.

The system prompts you to confirm the deletion only if the Confirm Deletes checkbox is selected  in the Project Browser panel of the General page of the Options dialog; if this option is not selected, no prompt is displayed.

Script deletion is permanent - scripts cannot be recovered.

 

General Options

DisplayOutput

Display the Output window with the results of the most recently executed script displayed in the Script tab.

 

 

Notes

This facility is available in the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, Systems Engineering and Ultimate editions
If you add, delete or change a script, you might have to reload the model in order for the changes to take effect
If you select to delete a script group that contains scripts, the system always prompts you to confirm the action regardless of any system settings for delete operations; be certain that you intend to delete the group and its scripts before confirming the deletion - deletion of script groups and scripts is permanent