Lock Objects Under Require User Lock to Edit

In the Require User Lock to Edit security mode, if you want to edit one or more of the diagrams or elements in a package, you need to set a User Lock on either the specific objects or the package that contains them. You can set or release the lock from either a diagram or the Project Browser. Once you have set a lock, only you or the Security Administrator can release it again; no other user can release your locks.

Access     Select one of:

Project Browser | right-click on package | Apply/Release User Lock
Project Browser | right-click on diagram | Apply/Release User Lock
Project Browser | right-click on element | Apply/Release User Lock
Diagram | right-click on background | Apply/Release User Lock or
Diagram | right-click on element | Apply/Release User Lock
 

Set or clear a user lock in Require User Lock to Edit security mode

Step

Action

See also

1

On the Set User Lock dialog, click on either the:

Apply User Lock radio button to set the lock or
Release User Lock radio button to clear the lock
 

 

2

For a package, if you want to also lock all child packages, select the Include Child Packages checkbox.

If any elements in the package tree are locked by other users, a list of elements that couldn't be locked displays.

 

 

3

Click on the OK button.

The system locks or unlocks:

The selected element
The selected diagram and any elements in the diagram, or
The package and all elements and diagrams in the top level of the package
 

 

Notes

To check whether the project security is in Require User Lock to Edit mode, select Project | Security; the Require User Lock to Edit option should be selected
You must have Lock Elements permission to lock a package
When you set a user lock, a blue exclamation mark displays against the object or objects that are locked; other users see these as red exclamation marks

Learn more