Update an Asset

Over time, you might need to revise the contents of the Registry. Such updates can include:

Registering additional Asset Packages and files
Registering a new version of an Asset Package
Registering a new edition of a Storage file
Deleting an Asset Package
Deleting a Storage file
Changing the details of a Storage
Deleting an entire Storage and the assets and files within it

Access     Project | Reusable Asset Service > Registry Browser

Update Tasks

Task

Detail

See also

Register new Asset Packages and Storage files

 

You can add further Asset Packages and files to a Storage at any time.

 

 

 

Register New Asset

Register a new version of an Asset Package

You register a new version of an Asset Package as if it were a new Asset. In the Current Version field on the Register Package(s) dialog, you enter a different number or reference to that assigned to the currently-registered asset.

You can overwrite an existing Asset Package under the same version number only if the Storage has Draft status. If the Storage has Complete status, you cannot overwrite the existing Asset Package under the same version number. To replace the current version, you must delete the Asset from the Storage (see below) and register the Package again.

 

Delete Asset Package from Storage

Click on the Package name in the Registry Browser tab and either:

Click on the Delete button or
Right-click and select the Delete From Registry menu option
 

In either case a short submenu displays, prompting you to select to delete:

The Asset Package only, or
The Asset Package and the Packages on which it is directly or indirectly dependant
 

When you select the appropriate option, a prompt displays for you to confirm the deletion.

Click on the Yes button. A message displays to confirm that the Package has been deleted from the Registry, and the name of the Package is removed from the Registry Browser tab.

If the Storage is password-protected, the system prompts you to enter a Complete Access password before it begins deleting the Package(s).

If any of the registered Packages depends on the Package being deleted, the system displays the names of these Packages and prompts for confirmation before deleting each Package.

 

 

Register a new version of a Storage File.

You register a new version of a Storage file as if it were a new file under a different file name.

You can overwrite an existing file under the same file name only if the Storage has Draft status. If the Storage has Complete status, you cannot overwrite the existing file. To replace the current version, you must delete the file from the Storage (see below) and register the  file again.

 

Register New Asset

Delete Storage Files from Storage

On the Storage Files tab, right-click on the file name and select the Delete From Registry context menu option. A prompt displays for you to confirm the deletion.

Click on the Yes button. A status message confirms the deletion, the file is removed from the Registry and the file name is removed from the Storage Files tab.

If the Storage is password-protected, the system prompts you to enter a Complete Access password before it begins deleting the file.

 

 

Change Storage Details

 

 

 
These tasks are as documented for setting up the Registry. Note that whilst you can copy a Storage as a new Storage, you cannot transfer assets directly between existing Storages.

 

 
Setup Asset Service

Delete a Storage and its contents

 

Refresh Registry Browser

If there is a possibility that another user has updated the Registry while you have had it open, click on the RASRefresh icon in the Reusable Asset Service toolbar to refresh your display from the latest updates to the Registry.

 

 

Learn more