Check Visual Changes to Diagrams

The Baseline Diagram Compare feature is a quick and easy way to visually compare a current diagram with an earlier version from a saved Baseline, and highlight any elements in the diagram that have been Added, Deleted, Resized or Moved.

You can then review these changes and optionally roll back each change if needed to their previous state from the Baseline.

The changes are identified on the Baseline Diagram Compare dialog and on the diagram itself. If the diagram is not already open, the compare feature also opens the diagram.

Access    Any of the following:

Project Browser diagram context menu | Compare Diagram to Baseline | <select baseline>: Show Differences
Project Browser Package context menu | Package Control | Package Baselines | <select baseline>: Show Differences | Selected diagram context menu | Compare to Baseline
Diagram context menu | Compare to Diagram Baseline | <select baseline>: Show Differences, or
Select Package | Project | Package Baselines | <select baseline>: Show Differences | Selected diagram context menu | Compare to Baseline

Guide

As you work on the dialog, the diagram changes as illustrated and as explained here.

Visdiff
                                                  Visdiff2
 

Topic

Detail

See  also

Select element for review

The Status column indicates whether the element has been:

Moved or re-sized (Changed)
Deleted from the diagram (Baseline only), or
Added to the diagram since the Baseline was captured (Model only)

 

Click on the item name.

When an item is selected, the corresponding element on the diagram is highlighted as follows:

Deleted from the diagram
 
DelEl
 
Added to the diagram
 
addel
 
Resized or moved to a new position
 
MovedEl

 

The currently-selected element on the diagram is marked with a dot, as shown, to indicate that it is in focus.

 

 

Position the diagram to show the selected element

To scroll the diagram so that you can see the original (Baseline) position of an element, double-click on the item in the list.

To scroll the diagram so that you can see the current (model) position of the element, press and hold (Ctrl) while you double-click on the item.

 

 

Leave the changes in the item as they are

Ensure that the checkbox against the item is not selected.

Click on the OK button.

 

 

Roll the changes back to the Baseline position

Click on the checkbox against each required item (or click on the Check All button to select all items).

The Action column displays the action required to roll each element's relationship to the diagram back to the Baseline relationship.

The corresponding element on the diagram is highlighted as follows:

Deleted, now being restored
 
RestoreEl
 
Added, now being removed
 
RemoveEl
 
Resized/repositioned, now being put back to original position
 
PutBackEl

 

The comparison shows the blue direction arrow for all repositions or resizes that have been checked. For a heavily edited diagram this can be confusing. However, you can hide the arrow for all elements except the one currently in focus; to do this:

Deselect the Visually link new and old position for checked items checkbox
 

To roll back the changes for all items for which a checkbox is selected:

Click on the Apply button

 

 

Notes

Diagram Baseline facilities are available in the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, Systems Engineering and Ultimate editions of Enterprise Architect
 

Learn more