Lock Packages Under User/Group Locking

If, in User/Group locking mode, you want to lock or unlock the contents of a package, you can do so in a single operation. You can set the lock on the entire contents (including child packages), just on the top-level package content, or just on the elements or diagrams in the package.

Access     Project Browser | Package context menu | Lock Package

Lock or Unlock a package

Step

Action

See also

1

In the Lock Type panel, select the appropriate radio button for the lock to apply:

No lock - do not set a lock on this package; clear any existing lock that you have set, or clear any Full lock that other users have set
Full lock - lock this package so that no-one can edit it without specifically clearing the lock
User lock - lock this package so that only you can make further edits; other users cannot unlock or edit the package
Group lock - lock this package so that any member of the specified group (below) can edit the object; other users cannot unlock or edit the package

 

 

2

If you have selected the Group lock option, in the GroupID field click on the drop-down arrow and select the group containing users that can edit the object.

The GroupID drop-down list only includes groups which you are a member of.

 

 

Assign User To Groups

3

The What to Process checkboxes default to selected to also lock or unlock:

Elements and/or diagrams in the package
The contents of child packages (that is, the whole branch)

 
If you want to exclude any type of package content from the change in lock status, deselect each appropriate checkbox.

 

 

4

Click on the OK button to apply the lock.

 

 

Notes

To check whether the project security is in User/Group locking mode, select Project | Security; the Require User Lock to Edit option should be deselected
You must have Lock Elements permission to lock a package
If the package is already locked, only the corresponding lock option and the No lock option are highlighted; you have to release the lock in order to set a different type of lock
If you select the Full Lock , no-one may edit option, a red exclamation mark displays against the package in the Project Browser
If you select the User Lock, locking user may still edit or Group lock, locking group may still edit options, a blue exclamation mark displays against the package in the Project Browser; other users see a red exclamation mark

Learn more