Update to the Latest Revision of Selected Package

When you are part of a team working in a Distributed Model environment, you will want to periodically update your model with the changes that other team members have committed into version control.  You can transfer the other users' updates from version control into the selected package in the Project Browser.

Access     Project Browser | right-click package to update | Package Control | Get Latest

Update package to latest revision

The local XMI file associated with the package is updated to the latest revision from version control.  The XMI file is imported into your model database, updating the package in your model.

When working in a Private Model, if the system detects that the package content in the model is already up to date with the latest revision of the package file retrieved from version control, then the Import Package dialog displays first.  This dialog is not displayed for a Shared Model.

The following options are available:

Force Reload From XMI - reload the package from XMI regardless of whether it is up to date or not
Accept current package - select to skip the process of re-importing the package from XMI
Refresh model view - select to to refresh the Project Browser and diagrams, by reloading the package content from the project database
Always use these settings - When selected, if you subsequently check out a package that is found to be up to date, the same settings are applied again without displaying the dialog
 

Notes

The Get Latest command is disabled for any package that is checked-out (to anybody) in the currently loaded project
When using a Shared Model environment, where all users are connected to a single model database, you should reload the package from the database, rather than using the Get Latest command
If you have selected the Always use these settings checkbox and you want to reconfigure the Import Package dialog, press the Ctrl key whilst you select the Package Control | Get Latest menu option; the dialog displays and you can change the settings

Learn more