Manage Workspace Layout

As you perform work on your model you use various toolbars and windows; you will quite likely use the same toolbars and windows regularly, in an arrangement that suits the way in which you use the system. Rather than having to re-open and arrange these tools at the start of each work session, you can use either a predefined or a customized work environment or workspace.  Workspaces:

·Automatically open and organize all the tools appropriate to an area of work such as Requirements Management, Code Engineering and Debugging
·Help a new user by:
·Opening the tools that are appropriate to a task so that they can immediately get started, and
·Showing the user what tools they should become familiar with for that area of work
·Help you switch rapidly to work environments for either successive or completely different areas of work
·Re-establish a work environment that you have accidentally or deliberately changed


To select, create and maintain workspaces you use the Workspaces tab on the Workspace and Commands dialog, which lists the currently-available system and user-defined layouts.

Access    View | Perspectives > Workspaces   or
                View | Toolbars | Workspace Layouts: Wkspaces (Manage Workspaces) > Workspaces

Manage Layouts



See also

Change workspace layout

The Current Workspace Layout field at the bottom of the Workspaces and Commands dialog identifies the layout last selected. You might have moved or closed windows after applying that layout. The (Copy of existing Workspace Layout) at the top of the Available Workspaces list is a capture of the workspace layout immediately before you opened the dialog.

You can change the layout to:

·The original layout (as identified by the Current Workspace Layout field), discarding any changes you might have made
·The Copy of existing Workspace Layout, preparatory to saving the changes in a new named layout, or
·One of the other named layouts


To change the layout in use, either:

·Double-click on the required layout name
·Click on the layout name and click on the Apply button or OK button, or
·Right-click on the layout name and select the Apply context menu option


When you change the workspace layout in use, the layout name in the toolbar layout field also changes.



Copy workspace layout


·Change the layout in use to the required layout and click on the Save As New button, or
·Right-click on the layout name and select the Save As context menu option


The Save Custom Workspace Layout dialog displays.

In the Custom Workspace Layout Name field, type a name for the layout. By selecting an existing name you can change an existing layout to something different. Click on the Save button.

If you already have tailored windows or views open that you want to include in your selected layout, select the Include active custom views checkbox.



Delete workspace layout


Right-click on the layout name and select the Delete context menu option. A prompt displays for you to confirm or cancel the deletion.




·If you apply a working set that invokes floating diagrams or views, it will override the current workspace layout with the layout that was in use when the working set was defined
·If you develop a workspace layout that would be useful for your colleagues, you can share it with them by incorporating it in an MDG Technology that they can download


Learn more

·Create MDG Technologies (MDG Technology Wizard - Contents screen)


Learning Center topics

·(Alt+F1) | Enterprise Architect | Getting Started | User Interface | Saving Workspace Layouts
·(Alt+F1) | Enterprise Architect | Getting Started | User Interface | Change Workspace Layout