Enable/Disable Security

User security is not automatically enabled on the system. If your organization requires the security facilities, the Security Administrator enables them using an authorization key obtained from the Sparx Systems website. Similarly, if security facilities are no longer required, the Security Administrator explicitly disables security, again using the authorization key.

Access     Project | Security | Enable Security

Enable and Disable User Security



See also


Obtain the authorization key from the Sparx Systems website on:

·the Team Modeling Resources section (Trial User) or
·the Registered Users section (Registered User; you must also have your Registered Users login and password)

The two authorization keys are not interchangeable - the Trial User key does not work on a registered user installation.


Team Modeling Resources web pages

Registered Users web pages


In Enterprise Architect, select the Enable Security menu option.

The Enter authorization dialog displays.




In the Enter authorization key field, type the authorization key from the Sparx Systems website.




If required, select the Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams checkbox.

In standard (User/Group Locking) mode, this option blocks multiple users from simultaneously attempting to modify the same diagram (see Notes below).

This option is ignored in Require User Lock to Edit security mode.



Set Security Policy


Click on the OK button.

Security is enabled, and an Admin user and Administrators user group are created, both with all access permissions; the Admin user has the password of password.



List of Available Permissions


Select the Project | Security | Login as Another User menu option, and log in as Admin with the initial password of password.

It is recommended that you change the Admin password immediately.



Change Password


Set up users and permissions as required.

Maintain Groups

Set Group Permissions

Maintain Users

Set Up Single Permissions

Assign User To Groups



·Once security has been enabled, you must have Security - Enable/Disable permission to turn it off - the initial Admin administrator  and Administrators group automatically have this permission; the system prompts you to log off the project and log on again, but this is not strictly necessary
·If you re-enable security, be aware that any changes you have made to the Admin user (password and reduced access permissions) are reset to password and full access; similarly, the Administrators user group is reinstated with full access permissions
·The Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams option is not displayed when disabling security, therefore to toggle the setting whilst security is enabled you must disable security and re-enable it; security settings (users, groups and permissions) and locks on elements, are not affected by this action
·If the Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams option is selected, as a user modifies a diagram the system automatically applies a User Lock to the diagram, preventing any other user from modifying it
It is creating difference between the database and buffer versions of the diagram that triggers the temporary lock, and elimination of difference that releases the lock; therefore, the system releases the lock when:
·The user saves the changes to the diagram, with the Save icon or keyboard keys
·The user undoes the last remaining action in the Undo list
·The user saves or discards changes via the system prompt when they close the diagram

 If the diagram already has a User Lock or Group Lock that does not exclude the current user, this lock is set aside and saved when the temporary User Lock is applied; when the temporary User Lock is released, the pre-existing lock is restored