Diagram Advanced Menu

As you develop some of your diagrams you might need to perform special operations on them, such as making them the default diagram for the model or for just your own work, or locking them to prevent accidental change by yourself or by other users. You can also generate a Pattern from a diagram, or hide all connectors on the diagram.

Access     Diagram | Advanced

Advanced Diagram Options

Option

Action

Shortcut

See also

Set As Model Default

Make the current diagram the default diagram displayed when the model is re-opened (unless you set a User Default diagram, which overrides the model default; see below).

This option is also overridden by a project shortcut, which defines displays to present on opening the project.

It is often convenient to place hyperlinks to other diagrams and resources on the default diagram, thus creating a Home Page for your model.

Once you have specified a default diagram, the Home icon on the Diagram toolbar takes you back to that diagram from your current location in the model.

To cancel a Model Default diagram, either:

·Create a dummy diagram, set it as the Model Default and delete it, or
·Delete the original diagram (if it is no longer relevant)
 

In the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, System Engineering and Ultimate editions of Enterprise Architect, if security is enabled you must have Manage Project Settings permission to set the current diagram as the model default.

 

 

 

 

Project Shortcuts

 

 

 

Diagram Toolbar

Set As User Default

(Use in the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, Systems Engineering and Ultimate editions of Enterprise Architect; User Security must  be enabled).

Make the current diagram the default diagram displayed when you re-open this model.

The User Default diagram overrides the Model Default diagram (see Make Model Default, above); this option is itself overridden by a project shortcut, which defines displays to present on opening the project.

To cancel a User Default diagram, either:

·Create a dummy diagram, set it as the User Default and delete it, or
·Delete the original diagram (if it is no longer relevant)
 

This still blocks the Model Default diagram, whilst security is enabled; to re-establish the Model Default diagram, set it as the User Default.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Project Shortcuts

Change Type

Change the type of the current diagram.

 

Change Diagram Type

 

Show Property Note

Display the properties note for the current diagram on screen.

 

Insert Diagram Properties Note

 

Sequence Communication Messages

Change the order of the communication messages in the current diagram

 

Re-Order Messages

 

Save Diagram as UML Pattern

(Not available for Sequence diagrams)

 

Save the current diagram as a UML Pattern.

 

 

Create a Pattern

Learn more