Set Security Policy

The security policy determines how security mechanisms are applied and interpreted on the system. There are two possible security policies in Enterprise Architect:

·User/Group Locking mode - All elements and diagrams are considered unlocked and anyone can edit any part of the model; however, when you edit a diagram, Package or element, you lock the element or set of elements at either the user level or group level
This mode is good for cooperative work groups where there is a solid understanding of who is working on which part of the model, and locking is used mainly to prevent further changes or to limit who has write access to a part of the model
·Require User Lock  to Edit mode - More rigorous: the model is read-only, and everything is locked so that nobody can edit anything unless they explicitly check out the object with a user lock; a single 'check out' function operates on a diagram to check out the diagram and all contained elements in one go.
There are also functions on the context (right-click) menus of Packages, diagrams and elements in the Project Browser to apply a user lock when this mode is in use
You would use this mode when there is a strict requirement to ensure only one person can edit a resource at one time; this is suitable for much larger projects where there might be less communication between users

Access     Project | Security | Require User Lock to Edit (select for Require User Lock to Edit mode, deselect for User/Group Locking mode)


·Only the Admin Security Administrator, with Admin permissions, is able to set the security policy applied
·When you add new elements in User/Group Locking mode (elements editable by default), no user lock is created automatically for the newly created element
·When you add new elements in Require User Lock to Edit mode (elements locked by default), a user lock is created on the new element to enable instant editing