Topic
Prev Next

Track Changes

In a team environment, two or more people might work on developing documents and/or templates. You might, therefore, need to review each other's work, or just be able to see what changes another person has made to the file. In the Document editor, you can turn on change tracking to highlight the changes you make to the text.

Access

Ribbon

Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > [options]

Tracking options

To

Action

See also

Turn tracking on

Select the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Enable Tracking'.

Any changes made after Tracking is turned on are immediately highlighted:

  • Inserted text - printed in a different color
  • Deleted text - struck through with a single colored line
  • Formatting changes - indicated by a colored dotted underline

A change bar is also inserted in the page or column margin to indicate the line on the page on which the change was made.

If you mouse over a highlighted change, a tool-tip displays the type of change, the name of the person who made the change, and the date and time the change was made.

Turn tracking off

Select the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Enable Tracking' again.

Any changes made after Tracking was turned on remain highlighted, but changes made after tracking was turned off are not highlighted.

Hide changes

If you want to review the document as it is, without the highlighted changes, but you do not want to lose the changes or highlighting, select the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Hide Changes'.

The highlighted additions and deletions are hidden, and the remaining text closes up. Format changes are not hidden.

To expose the hidden changes, click on the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Hide Changes' again.

Locate changes

Select the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Find Next Change' or 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Find Previous Change' to search the text and place the cursor on the next or previous change made, respectively.

Respond to change

If you want to assess each change and act on your decision, select the option:

  • 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Accept Change' to confirm the change, or
  • 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Reject Change' to reverse the change to the original text or format

In either case, the change tracking markings are removed. You can make further changes if you wish.

Accept all changes

If you are not assessing each change, for example if you just want to see what a colleague has done before making your own changes, you can accept all changes across the document in one action.

Select the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Accept All Changes'.

Reject all changes

If you are not assessing each change, but just want to reverse all changes across the document in one action, select the option 'Document-Edit > Edit > Edit > Track Changes > Reject All Changes'.

A prompt displays for you to confirm the action; click on the Yes button.

You might do this if, for example, you or a colleague have edited the wrong version of a document or acted on a technical change that was itself reversed.