Topic
Prev Next

Lock Objects Under Require User Lock to Edit

In the Require User Lock to Edit security mode, if you want to edit one or more of the diagrams or elements in a Package, you must set a User Lock on either the specific objects or the Package that contains them. You can set or release the lock from either a diagram or the Project Browser. Once you have set a lock, only you or the Security Administrator can release it again; no other user can release your locks.

Access

Main Menu

  • Project | Security | Lock Selected Item...

Ribbon

  • Design > Package > Manage > Lock      (on selected Package)
  • Design > Diagram > Manage > Lock      (on selected diagram)
  • Design > Element > Manage > Lock      (on selected element)

Context Menu

Select one of:

  • Project Browser | Right-click on Package | Package Control | Apply/Release User Lock      or
  • Project Browser | Right-click on diagram | Apply/Release User Lock       or
  • Project Browser | Right-click on element | Apply/Release User Lock       or
  • Project Browser | Select a Package, Diagram or Element, then press Ctrl+Shift+L     or
  • Diagram | Right-click on background | Apply/Release User Lock     or
  • Diagram | Right-click on element | Apply/Release User Lock       or
  • Diagram | Select an element, then press Ctrl+Shift+L

Set or clear a user lock in Require User Lock to Edit security mode

Step

Action

See also

1

On the 'Set User Lock' dialog, click on either the:

  • 'Apply User Lock' radio button to set the lock or
  • 'Release User Lock' radio button to clear the lock

2

For a Package, if you want to also lock all child Packages, select the 'Include Child Packages' checkbox.

If any elements in the Package tree are locked by other users, a list of elements that couldn't be locked displays.

3

Click on the OK button.

The system locks or unlocks:

  • The selected element
  • The selected diagram and the diagram settings for elements on the diagram (not the elements themselves), or
  • The Package and all elements and diagrams in the top level of the Package

Notes

  • To check whether the project security is in Require User Lock to Edit mode, select 'Project | Security'; the 'Require User Lock to Edit' option should be selected
  • You must have 'Lock Elements' permission to lock a Package
  • When you set a user lock, a blue exclamation mark displays against the object or objects that are locked; other users see these as red exclamation marks

Learn more