Topic
Prev Next

Lock Packages Under User/Group Locking

If, in User/Group locking mode, you want to lock or unlock the contents of a Package, you can do so in a single operation. You can set the lock on the entire contents (including child Packages), just on the top-level Package content, or just on the elements or diagrams in the Package.

Access

Main Menu

  • Project | Security | Lock Selected Item...

Ribbon

  • Design > Package > Manage > Lock      (on selected Package)

Context Menu

  • Project Browser | Right-click on Package | Package Control | Lock Package
  • Project Browser | Click on a Package, then press Ctrl+Shift+L

Lock or Unlock a Package

Step

Action

See also

1

In the 'Lock Type' panel, select the appropriate radio button for the lock to apply:

  • No lock - do not set a lock on this Package; clear any existing lock that you have set, or clear any Full lock that other users have set
  • Full lock - lock this Package so that no-one can edit it without specifically clearing the lock
  • User lock - lock this Package so that only you can make further edits; other users cannot unlock or edit the Package
  • Group lock - lock this Package so that any member of the specified group can edit the object; other users cannot unlock or edit the Package

2

If you have selected the 'Group lock' option, in the 'GroupID' field click on the drop-down arrow and select the group containing users that can edit the object.

The 'GroupID' drop-down list only includes groups which you are a member of.

3

The 'What to Process' checkboxes default to selected to also lock:

  • Elements and/or diagrams in the Package
  • The contents of child Packages (that is, the whole branch)

If you want to exclude any type of Package content from the change in lock status, deselect each appropriate checkbox.

4

Click on the OK button to apply the lock.

Notes

  • To check whether the project security is in User/Group locking mode, select 'Configure > Security > Manage'; the 'Require User Lock to Edit' option should be deselected
  • You must have 'Lock Elements' permission to lock a Package
  • If the Package is already locked, only the corresponding lock option and the 'No lock' option are highlighted; you have to release the lock in order to set a different type of lock
  • If you select the 'Full Lock, no-one may edit' option, a red exclamation mark displays against the Package in the Project Browser
  • If you select the 'User Lock, locking user may still edit' or 'Group lock, locking group may still edit' options, a blue exclamation mark displays against the Package in the Project Browser; other users see a red exclamation mark

Learn more