Diagram

The Diagram menu enables you to save diagram images to file as well as configure diagram properties and options.

Menu Option & Function Keys

Use to

Properties  [F5]

View and edit the <type> Diagram: <name> dialog for the current diagram.

Layout Diagram

Automatically layout the current diagram (not available for Behavioral diagrams).

Lock Diagram

Prevent the diagram from being edited, or release the locked diagram for editing.

Note:

This does not apply in the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, Systems Engineering and Ultimate editions if security is enabled. In that case, see Lock Model Elements.

Save  [Ctrl]+[S]

Save the current position of all diagram elements.

Save Image  [Ctrl]+[T]

Save the diagram as a bitmap file (.BMP), Graphics Interchange Format file (.GIF) or Windows Metafile (.WMF).

Copy Image  [Ctrl]+[B]

Copy an image of the current diagram to the clipboard. The image can be in metafile or bitmap format; you set the format on the Options dialog.

Save UML Pattern

Save the current diagram as a UML pattern.

Swimlanes and Matrix

Add, modify and delete swimlanes or the swimlanes matrix for the current diagram.

Visible Relations  [Ctrl]+[Shift]+[I]

Hide or show individual connectors for the current diagram.

Property Note

Display the properties note for the current diagram on screen.

Sequence Messages

Change the order of the communication messages in the current diagram.

Find in Project Browser
[Shift]+[Alt]+[G]

Locate the current diagram in the Project Browser window.

Make User Default

(Use in the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, Systems Engineering and Ultimate editions of Enterprise Architect, if security is enabled.)

Make the current diagram the default diagram opened when you re-open this model. The User Default diagram overrides the Model Default diagram (see Make Model Default, below).

To cancel a User Default diagram, either:

  • Create a dummy diagram, set it as the User Default and delete it, or
  • Delete the original diagram (if it is no longer relevant).

This still blocks the Model Default diagram, whilst Security is enabled. To re-establish the Model Default diagram, set it as the User Default.

Make Model Default

Make the current diagram the default diagram opened when the current model is re-opened (unless you set a User Default diagram, which overrides the model default; see above).

To cancel a Model Default diagram, either:

  • Create a dummy diagram, set it as the Model Default and delete it, or
  • Delete the original diagram (if it is no longer relevant).

Change Type

Change the type of the current diagram.

Repeat Last Element  [Shift]+[F3]

Create an instance of the same type as the last element created.

Repeat Last Connector  [F3]

Create an instance of the same type as the last connector created.

Show Grid

Show or hide the diagram grid

Snap To Grid

Position elements on the diagram grid. There are two options:

  • Standard Grid - constrains elements to the grid when they are added to diagrams
  • Smart Placement - places elements even distances away from other elements and spaces elements evenly.

If neither of these options are enabled, the elements can be placed freely on the diagram.

Zoom

Change the zoom factor on the current diagram.