Repair a Project

If a project has not been closed properly, such as during system or network outages, on rare occasions the .EAP file does not open correctly. In this case a message displays informing you the project is of an unknown database format or is not a database file.


Never attempt to repair a project over a network connection; copy it to a local drive first.


  • Poor network connections can also cause this symptom.
  • In the Corporate, Business and Software Engineering, System Engineering and Ultimate editions of Enterprise Architect, if security is enabled you must have Administer Database permission to repair a project.

Repair a Project That Has Not Closed Correctly

To repair a project that was not closed properly, follow the steps below:


All users must be logged off the project you are attempting to repair.

  1. Copy the project file to a local drive on your PC.
  2. In Enterprise Architect, select the Tools | Options menu option and on the General page deselect the Use Jet 4.0 - requires restart checkbox.
  3. Close and restart Enterprise Architect and open a place holder project to enable access to the Repair .EAP File facility.


This is NOT the project you intend to repair, it is a copy of it.

  1. Select the Tools | Manage .EAP File | Repair .EAP File menu option.
  2. Follow the on-screen instructions.

Ensure Integrity of the Repaired Project

An additional step you can use to ensure the integrity of your project is to use the Remove Replication feature.

  1. Open Enterprise Architect, but when you are prompted to open a project, click on the Cancel button.
  2. Select the Tools | Manage .EAP File | Remove Replication menu option.
  3. Follow the prompts. When you are prompted for the Replica Project Browser window for your problem project, you might be given a warning about the project not being the Design Master; accept this warning. Click on the Next button.
  4. Browse for the clean project (for example, EABase.eap). Click on the Next button.
  5. Enter the path and name of the new project to be created, then click on the Next button.
  6. Click on the Run button to run the removal process.
  7. Once the removal process has been completed, open the project and do a check of the project contents. If the data is intact, backup the old project and replace it with the new version.