The Upgrade Wizard

When you first try to load an old project in a new version of Enterprise Architect, the system determines whether the project should be upgraded and, if the upgrade is necessary, displays the Upgrade Project Wizard.


The Upgrade Project Wizard:

  • Advises you of the necessity to upgrade
  • Advises you to back up the current project; it is essential to back up before any changes are made
  • Checks which upgrade path is required
  • Guides you through the steps to perform the upgrade
  • Opens the newly converted project.


  • For replicated models: If the wizard detects the project you are opening is a replica and not a Design Master, a different upgrade path is required.
  • Once upgraded, the project cannot be opened with the version of Enterprise Architect in which it was created.