Security Policy

There are two possible security policies in Enterprise Architect:

  1. In the User/Group Locking mode, all elements and diagrams are considered unlocked and anyone can edit any part of the project. However, when you edit a diagram, package or element, you lock the element or set of elements at either the user level or group level. This mode is good for cooperative work groups where there is a solid understanding of who is working on which part of the model, and locking is used mainly to prevent further changes or to limit who has access to a part of the model.
  2. The Require User Lock mode is more rigorous. The Enterprise Architect model is read-only - everything is locked so that nobody can edit anything unless they explicitly check out the object with a user lock. A single 'check out' function operates on a diagram to check out the diagram and all contained elements in one go. There are also functions on the context (right-click) menus of packages, diagrams and elements in the Project Browser to apply a user lock when this mode is in use. You would use this mode when there is a strict requirement to ensure only one person can edit a resource at one time. This is suitable for much larger projects where there might be less communication between users.

Toggle between these modes using the Project | Security | Require User Lock to Edit menu option - deselected for User/Group Locking mode, and selected for Require User Lock mode.



  • When you add new elements in Mode 1 (Require User Lock to Edit deselected, elements editable by default), no user lock is created automatically for the newly created element.
  • When you add new elements in Mode 2 (Require User Lock to Edit selected, elements locked by default), a user lock is created on the new element to enable instant editing.