Enable Security

User security is not enabled by default in Enterprise Architect. To enable security for a project in Enterprise Architect for the first time, follow the steps below.

  1. Trial users can access the Team Modeling Resources section of the Sparx Systems website, and obtain the Authorization Key. (Registered users may obtain a separate key from the Registered Users section.)
  2. In Enterprise Architect, select the Project | Security | Enable Security menu option. The Enter authorization dialog displays
  3. In the Enter authorization key field, type the authorization key from the Sparx Systems website.
  4. If required, select the Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams checkbox.


In standard (User/Group Locking) security mode, this option blocks multiple users from simultaneously attempting to modify the same diagram. As a user modifies a diagram, Enterprise Architect automatically applies a User Lock to the diagram, preventing any other user from modifying it. It is creating difference between the database and buffer versions of the diagram that triggers the temporary lock, and elimination of difference that releases the lock. Therefore, Enterprise Architect releases the lock when:

  • The user saves the changes to the diagram, with the Save icon or keyboard keys
  • The user undoes the last remaining action in the Undo list
  • The user saves or discards changes via the system prompt when they close the diagram.

If the diagram already has a User Lock or Group Lock that does not exclude the current user, this lock is set aside and saved when the temporary User Lock is applied.  When the temporary User Lock is released, the pre-existing lock is restored.

The option is ignored in Require User Lock security mode.

  1. Click on the OK button. Security is enabled, and an Admin user and user group are created with full permissions (all access rights listed in List of Available Permissions) and a password of password.
  2. Select the Project | Security | Login as Another User menu option, and log in as Admin with the initial password of password.


To change the Admin password, see the Change Password topic.

  1. Set up users and permissions as required.


Once security has been enabled, you must have the Security - Enable/Disable access right to turn it off. The initial administrator automatically has this access right.

  1. To disable security, click on the Enable Security menu option, and again type the authorization key in the Authorization dialog. Click on the OK button. Security is disabled.


  • The system prompts you to log off the project and log on again, but this is not strictly necessary.
  • To re-enable security, follow the procedure above, but be aware that any changes you have made to the admin user (password and reduced access rights) are reset to password and full access.
  • The Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams option is not displayed when disabling security. Therefore, to toggle the setting whilst security is enabled you must disable security and re-enable it. Security settings (users, groups and permissions) and locks on elements, are NOT affected by this action.