Breakpoint and Marker Management

Breakpoints work in Enterprise Architect much like in any other debugger. Adding a breakpoint notifies the debugger to trap code execution at the point you have specified. When a breakpoint is encountered by a thread of the application being debugged, the source code is displayed in an editor window, and the line of code where the breakpoint occurred is highlighted.

Selecting a different package in the project affects which breakpoints are displayed.


The debugger does not stop automatically. It runs to completion unless it encounters a breakpoint.

An Enterprise Architect model maintains breakpoints for every package having a Build Script - Debug command. Breakpoints themselves are listed in their own Breakpoints & Markers window (View | Execution Analyzer | Breakpoints & Markers).


Breakpoint States




Not running




disabled breakpoint




Not bound - this usually means that the DLL is not yet loaded or was not built with debug information



Failed - this usually means a break could not be set at this time (see Breakpoint Failures below).


Breakpoint Failures

A breakpoint failure occurs if there is a problem in binding the breakpoint. A warning message displays in the Details column of the Breakpoints & Markers window, identifying the type of problem. For example:

  • The source file for the breakpoint does not match the source file used to build the application image
  • The time date stamp on the file is greater than that of the image.


A warning message is also output to the Debug Output window.


Delete, Disable and Enable Breakpoints

To delete a specific breakpoint, either:

  • If the breakpoint is enabled, click on the red breakpoint circle in the left margin of the Source Code Editor
  • Right-click on the breakpoint marker in the editor and select the appropriate context menu option, or
  • Select the breakpoint in the Breakpoints & Markers tab and press [Delete].

Whether you are viewing the Breakpoints folder or the Breakpoints & Markers window, you can right-click on an existing breakpoint and select a context menu option either to delete it or to convert it to a start recording marker or end recording marker.

You can also delete all breakpoints by clicking on the Delete all breakpoints button on the Breakpoints & Markers window toolbar (Delete Breakpoints).

To disable a breakpoint, deselect its checkbox on the Breakpoints & Markers window or, to disable all breakpoints, click on the Disable all breakpoints button in the toolbar (Disable all breakpoints). The breakpoint is then shown as an empty grey circle. Select the checkbox or use the Enable all breakpoints button to enable it again (Enable all breakpoints).