Resolve Conflicts

If two or more people each work on the same model object in their respective replicas between synchronizations, the replication engine has problems in resolving which change is the master.




See also

Avoid the problem

Ensure that each team member always works in a separate area of the model within their replica


Check for conflicts

After synchronizing replicas, open the Resolve Conflicts dialog (see below this table) and check if there were any conflicts


Response to conflicts

When a project record has been modified in different ways by different users, the replication engine selects one of the conflicting values based on rules within the JET replication manager

However, the replication engine stores the discarded changes and flags the conflict on the Resolve Conflicts dialog so that you can choose to roll in the discarded change instead

Normally it is not necessary or desirable to examine conflicts, since they represent relatively inconsequential pieces of information that can very easily be modified through the normal Enterprise Architect interface; for example, by moving a diagram element

The only case in which the Resolve Conflicts dialog should be used is where a substantial piece of information has been overridden by a user, and you want to retrieve it


Access:   Tools | Data Management | Manage .EAP File | Resolve Replication Conflicts

Use to:

  • Select which of two conflicting changes you should save to the Design Master and/or replicas, where a substantial piece of information has been overridden by a user and you want to retrieve it

How to:

To resolve conflicts in changes to the same model object in two separate replicas, follow the steps below:




Synchronize a replica with the Design Master, and display the Resolve Conflicts dialog


In the Table with Conflicts list, click on the entry that is likely to contain the lost information


Click on each entry in the Conflicting Records list

When the lost information appears in the Conflict Details list, click on the Overwrite with Conflict button.


In the Conflicting Records list, you can also copy each Row ID to the clipboard by right-clicking on the row and selecting the Copy to Clipboard menu option