Review Package History - SCC Client

The File History command allows you to review the change history of version controlled packages.  It also enables you to check out a prior revision of the package for editing, effectively allowing your to roll-back to a prior revision of the package.

The process for reviewing the package history of packages configured for version control with an SCC client (which includes products such as Visual Source Safe, TFS-SCC, ClearCase, Perforce, AccuRev, MKS Source Integrity and Serena Dimensions) differs from that for Subversion, CVS or TFS command line clients.

Use to:

  • Review the change history of version controlled packages
  • Revert to a previous revision of a version controlled package

How to:

Step

Action

See also

1

In the Project Browser, select the package for which to view change history.

 

2

Right-click on the package and choose Package Control | File History.

The change history mechanism offered by the third party SCC provider displays.

 

3

To import a prior revision of the package into your model, use the SCC History dialog to retrieve the revision, then close the dialog.

The SCC client notifies Enterprise Architect that a different revision has been retrieved.  Enterprise Architect then displays a prompt, asking whether to check-out the prior revision.

Example - Retrieve Prior Revision From SCC

4

Optionally, click on either;

  • Yes, to check out the prior revision
  • No, to import the prior revision as read-only

If you click on Yes, the selected revision of the package file is retrieved from version control and imported into your model as a package that is checked out for editing.  You can subsequently check in this revision as a new HEAD revision - effectively allowing you to revert a package to a prior revision.

If you click on No, the selected revision of the package file is retrieved from version control and imported into your model, but the package remains flagged as checked-in, so it cannot be modified.  Subsequently checking out the package updates the package to the latest revision before it is unlocked for editing.

 

Notes:

  • If the selected package was already checked out in the current model, Enterprise Architect does not proceed with retrieving a prior revision
  • If you check out a prior revision of a package, but do not want to commit it as a new revision, right-click on the package and select Package Control | Undo Check Out