Security Policy

There are two possible security policies in Enterprise Architect.




See also

User/Group Locking mode

All elements and diagrams are considered unlocked and anyone can edit any part of the project

However, when you edit a diagram, package or element, you lock the element or set of elements at either the user level or group level

This mode is good for cooperative work groups where there is a solid understanding of who is working on which part of the model, and locking is used mainly to prevent further changes or to limit who has access to a part of the model


Require User Lock  to edit mode

More rigorous: the Enterprise Architect model is read-only, and everything is locked so that nobody can edit anything unless they explicitly check out the object with a user lock

A single 'check out' function operates on a diagram to check out the diagram and all contained elements in one go

There are also functions on the context (right-click) menus of packages, diagrams and elements in the Project Browser to apply a user lock when this mode is in use

You would use this mode when there is a strict requirement to ensure only one person can edit a resource at one time; this is suitable for much larger projects where there might be less communication between users



  • Toggle between the security modes using Project | Security | Require User Lock to Edit - deselected for User/Group Locking mode, selected for Require User Lock to edit mode
  • When you add new elements in User/Group Locking mode (elements editable by default), no user lock is created automatically for the newly created element
  • When you add new elements in Require User Lock to Edit mode (elements locked by default), a user lock is created on the new element to enable instant editing