Enable Security

User security is not enabled by default in Enterprise Architect, the Administrator must enable it using an Authorization key obtained from the Sparx Systems website.

Access:   Project | Security | Enable Security

Use to:

  • Enable User Security on a project
  • Disable User Security, in exactly the same way

How to:



See also


Obtain the Authorization Key from the Sparx Systems website on:

  • the Team Modeling Resources section (Trial User) or
  • the Registered Users section (Registered User; you must also have your Registered Users login and password)

Team Modeling Resources web pages

Registered Users web pages


In Enterprise Architect, select the Enable Security menu option

The Enter authorization dialog displays



In the Enter authorization key field, type the authorization key from the Sparx Systems website



If required, select the Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams checkbox

This option is ignored in Require User Lock security mode.

In standard (User/Group Locking) mode, this option blocks multiple users from simultaneously attempting to modify the same diagram (see Notes below)

Security Policy


Click on the OK button

Security is enabled, and an Admin user and user group are created with  all access rights and a password of password

List of Available Permissions


Select the Project | Security | Login as Another User menu option, and log in as Admin with the initial password of password

If required, you can change the Admin password

Change Password


Set up users and permissions as required.

Maintain Users

Assign User To Groups

Set Up Single Permissions

Maintain Groups

Set Group Permissions


  • Once security has been enabled, you must have the Security - Enable/Disable access right to turn it off - the initial administrator automatically has this access right; the system prompts you to log off the project and log on again, but this is not strictly necessary
  • If you re-enable security, be aware that any changes you have made to the Admin user (password and reduced access rights) are reset to password and full access
  • The Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams option is not displayed when disabling security, therefore to toggle the setting whilst security is enabled you must disable security and re-enable it; security settings (users, groups and permissions) and locks on elements, are NOT affected by this action
  • If the Automatically apply Exclusive Edit Locks to diagrams option is selected, as a user modifies a diagram Enterprise Architect automatically applies a User Lock to the diagram, preventing any other user from modifying it
    It is creating difference between the database and buffer versions of the diagram that triggers the temporary lock, and elimination of difference that releases the lock; therefore, Enterprise Architect releases the lock when:
  • The user saves the changes to the diagram, with the Save icon or keyboard keys
  • The user undoes the last remaining action in the Undo list
  • The user saves or discards changes via the system prompt when they close the diagram

 If the diagram already has a User Lock or Group Lock that does not exclude the current user, this lock is set aside and saved when the temporary User Lock is applied.  When the temporary User Lock is released, the pre-existing lock is restored