Diagram Tabs

Diagram tabs indicate which diagrams and views (such as the Start Page, RTF reports, code editors, the Model Search and the Relationship Matrix) are currently open in the work area, by showing the view name and icon. The currently displayed view is indicated by the diagram name being in bold, and an asterisk against the tab name indicates that the diagram or view contains unsaved changes.


You open the view that you want by clicking on its tab, and you can select options for saving, reloading, moving and closing the views from the tab context menu. You can also review the tabs and select one using the View Tab Switcher window. The tabs are located, by default, at the bottom of the Diagram View; if you prefer, you can move them to the top of the Diagram View, above the Status Bar, using the General Settings page of the Options dialog.

Access    Open a diagram or view

Diagram tabs context menu options



See also

Save Changes to '<tab name>'


Save the changes made to the diagram or view.


Save All

Save the model.



Reload '<tab name>'

Reopen the diagram or view without the unsaved changes; that is, revert to the state before any changes were made.

Refresh the diagram or view from the repository, to show any changes made by other users in a shared model.


Refresh the diagram


Converts the diagram or view into a floating window that you can move around your screen(s).

An alternative is to simply click on the selected tab and drag it off the Diagram Tabs row.

You could use this option to display and work on several diagrams at the same time.

To restore a floating view to a tab in the Diagram View, right-click on its Caption Bar and select the Tabbed Document option.



Close '<tab name>'

Close the selected diagram or view; Enterprise Architect prompts you to save any changes.

You can also close the tab by clicking the middle mouse button/scroller.



Close All

Close all open diagrams and views; Enterprise Architect prompts you to save any  unsaved changes.



Close All Except '<tab name>'

Close all diagrams and views except for '<tab name>'; Enterprise Architect prompts you to save any  unsaved changes.



Close All <view type>

(Where several views of the same type can be opened at the same time, such as diagrams, RTF documents, or text editors.)

Close all views of the same type as the selected tab, leaving views of other types still open.




(Start Page only) Hide the Start Page.

To redisplay the Start Page, use the drop-down menu at the top right of the Diagram View, or select the Window | Show Start Page menu option.




The only context menu option available for the Start Page tab is the Hide option
You can change the sequence of tabs by clicking on each tab and dragging it to a different position, as required; however, you cannot change the position of the Start Page tab - when displayed, it always sits at the left-hand end of the sequence

Learn more