Security Policy

There are two possible security policies in Enterprise Architect.




See also

User/Group Locking mode

All elements and diagrams are considered unlocked and anyone can edit any part of the project.

However, when you edit a diagram, package or element, you lock the element or set of elements at either the user level or group level.

This mode is good for cooperative work groups where there is a solid understanding of who is working on which part of the model, and locking is used mainly to prevent further changes or to limit who has access to a part of the model.



Require User Lock  to edit mode

More rigorous: the Enterprise Architect model is read-only, and everything is locked so that nobody can edit anything unless they explicitly check out the object with a user lock.

A single 'check out' function operates on a diagram to check out the diagram and all contained elements in one go.

There are also functions on the context (right-click) menus of packages, diagrams and elements in the Project Browser to apply a user lock when this mode is in use.

You would use this mode when there is a strict requirement to ensure only one person can edit a resource at one time; this is suitable for much larger projects where there might be less communication between users.




Toggle between the security modes using Project | Security | Require User Lock to Edit - deselected for User/Group Locking mode, selected for Require User Lock to edit mode
When you add new elements in User/Group Locking mode (elements editable by default), no user lock is created automatically for the newly created element
When you add new elements in Require User Lock to Edit mode (elements locked by default), a user lock is created on the new element to enable instant editing