Author Topic: SysML Item Flow with item property  (Read 1092 times)

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Karma: +37/-1
    • View Profile
SysML Item Flow with item property
« on: January 04, 2013, 11:23:46 pm »
Hello,

if I read the SysML specification right than can an Item Flow be labeled with either an Classifier or an Item Property.

Classifier works fine (Advanced, Information Flow conveyed).

Is there a possibility to use an Item Property\Property instead of the classifier?


Kind regards,

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

marke

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SysML Item Flow with item property
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 07:37:48 pm »
This is still a problem in V13. I am trying to implement the Water Distiller example in Chapter 16 of the Practical Guide to SysML book (Iss 2 so SysML 1.3). This is a showstopper as you can't create an Item Flow item than can be allocated to from an object flow. I want to be able to map between logical model object flows and physical model items flows, e.g. a real-world value like temperature in the logical model is represented by a sensor voltage in the physical model.

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • Karma: +29/-2
    • View Profile
Re: SysML Item Flow with item property
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2017, 09:33:05 am »
This is still a problem in V13. I am trying to implement the Water Distiller example in Chapter 16 of the Practical Guide to SysML book (Iss 2 so SysML 1.3). This is a showstopper as you can't create an Item Flow item than can be allocated to from an object flow. I want to be able to map between logical model object flows and physical model items flows, e.g. a real-world value like temperature in the logical model is represented by a sensor voltage in the physical model.

I don't have the book so can you describe the diagram please?
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

marke

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SysML Item Flow with item property
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2017, 05:28:47 pm »
There is a relevant diagram in the SysML spec in Table 9.2. In the box for ItemFlow, two options for showing ItemFlow between eng and trns are shown. The left-hand side shows a "bare" item flow called Torque which is a classifier. The right-hand side shows torque: Torque which is an Item Flow with an Item Property, torque being the item property. EA seems to only support the Item Flow shown by a classifier (on the left hand side) and not the Item Flow with an Item Property (right-hand side).

There is some descriptive text in paragraph 9.3.1.5 of the SysML spec.

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • Karma: +29/-2
    • View Profile
Re: SysML Item Flow with item property
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2017, 09:13:54 am »
Ah, OK. ItemFlow has a tagged value named itemProperty. Set that to reference a Property.
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Karma: +37/-1
    • View Profile
Re: SysML Item Flow with item property
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2017, 11:32:23 pm »
Hi,

thanks for your explanation. I've tried it and it works:
- Create one or more Links of type <<ItemFlow>> (from SysML Relationships)
- Don't add conveyed items to <<ItemFlow>>
- For every Link <<ItemFlow>> fill out the TaggedValue "ItemProperty" with one property
- Add a connector
- Right Click on the connector, advanced, InformationFlow realized
- Add the needed InformationFlows (every contains one property)
- And EA shows the connector according to SysML specification (with the (item)properties)

No easy task.

Kind regards,

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

marke

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SysML Item Flow with item property
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2017, 10:06:13 pm »
Indeed. I have raised a bug report asking that Item Properties, as well as Classifiers, can be added via Advanced/Information Flows ...