Author Topic: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7  (Read 498 times)

bknoth2

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« on: August 14, 2007, 08:43:13 am »
If I start using version 7 of EA on a shared-model that the rest of the team is using 6.5 with, are there going to be compatibility issues (I won't enable auditing, which I know converts the database)?

Thanks,

Bruce

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2007, 12:27:36 pm »
This practice is not recommended, but...

Probably not, at least for most common configurations. [Of course, in this context "common" is generally defined as "not the ones you're thinking of."]
No, you can't have it!

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2007, 02:21:39 am »
There's one response from Sparx that said you can do that except for one new feature that should not be used from 7.0. You have to search for the thread...

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2007, 03:25:33 am »
Quote
There's one response from Sparx that said you can do that except for one new feature that should not be used from 7.0. You have to search for the thread...

That's probably the auditing feature, which Bruce is aware of.

If you set auditing on for your project (auditing is off by default) the database (auditing can only be used with a DBMS back end, not an EAP file) will be upgraded. The new format cannot be opened with EA 6.5.

For the time being, if you turn off auditing there is an option to revert the database back to a format compatible with EA 6.5. Sparx says this option will be removed in future.
No, you can't have it!

bmioch

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2007, 04:07:45 pm »
Minor correction...

Auditing does work with EAP files, but is only available in Corporate Edition.

There is only one small feature that doesn't work with EAP files, that is using Server time for the timestamps, because EAP is file based.

liquidray

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2007, 01:23:25 pm »
Just to be clear.
If my current team is using EA 6.5 Corporate Edition and I alone upgrade to EA 7.0 and turn on the auditing feature, the rest of the team will still be able to view the EAP file and make modifications? Or is this move still considered risky?
We are trying to test 7.0 and then determine the role out strategy and compatibility information is extremely critical.
Thank you!

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6200
  • Karma: +47/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2007, 05:18:40 pm »
When you enable auditing on a model it prevents any users on 6.5 or earlier and any users with a desktop or professional license from accessing the model at all.  A confirmation prompt will be given to this effect when you do enable it, and if you disable auditing again you have the option of restoring compatibility with version 6.5.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

liquidray

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2007, 07:34:53 am »
Thank you for the reply.

I have another question.
Can EA 6.5 and 7.0 be installed on the same machine?

I would like to test a dummy eap file with 7.0
and continue to work with our production eap files with 6.5

Is it possible to install 7.0 in a way that allows that or do I need absolutely have to install 7.0 over 6.5?

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Sharing model with version 6.5 and 7
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2007, 10:37:45 am »
Has been explained somewhere in another thread. It's possible.

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
No, you can't have it!