Author Topic: Import DB schema from ODBC source  (Read 665 times)

_maximus_

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Import DB schema from ODBC source
« on: September 27, 2007, 05:32:21 am »
Problem:
EA 7.0 can't show me tables list from SQL Server DB which, I know that exactly, has a lot of user tables.
It picks up only stored procedures and user functions.

Not sure that I do all things right but it seems so.

What's wrong can be?
« Last Edit: September 27, 2007, 05:57:42 am by _maximus_ »

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Import DB schema from ODBC source
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2007, 06:33:05 am »
I just checked this with EA 7.0 build 817.

It worked as it should.

Make sure that on the Import DB schema dialog you check Import as New Objects. Also make sure that the Schema/Owner text box contains a usable value. (I think it can be blank, but if it contains a value it must be one that the DBMS will accept.)

David
No, you can't have it!

_maximus_

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Import DB schema from ODBC source
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2007, 12:50:48 am »
Two more thing worth to mention:
  • model is under VSS control
  • I successfully imported those tables under EA 6.5

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Import DB schema from ODBC source
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2007, 01:45:31 am »
Do you have the target package checked out with full control privileges?
No, you can't have it!