Author Topic: Package browser not showing all information  (Read 3425 times)

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2012, 12:35:07 am »
Quote
... just open the EAP file from within MS Access and knock yourself out - I found having EA Sparx open side-by-side with MS Access helps a lot in figuring out relationships between UML elements and their representation in the sparx DB. Very painful process though.... :(

I'd like to have the official Sparx recommendation how to proceed (SQL, EAP file, ...) so I can make a report on all relationships that I have represented in a given package.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7814
  • Karma: +171/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2012, 12:50:15 am »
In that case you better ask Sparx, and not the users.

Try support@sparxsystems.com

Geert

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2012, 01:21:15 am »
Quote
In that case you better ask Sparx, and not the users.

Try support@sparxsystems.com

Geert
I was assuming that Sparx was also using the forum to answer some of the questions from their privileged position.

If I ask Sparx and have a reply, I am pretty sure that many users want to be aware of the answer. So let's use the forum for sharing knowledge between users and Sparx. Of course, bug reports should not part of this forum.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7814
  • Karma: +171/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2012, 01:37:35 am »
No, I mean it. That isn't my opinion, that would be the response from a Sparx employee if he saw your question. (for which there's no guarantee)

Geert

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
  • Karma: +8/-3
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #19 on: November 27, 2012, 09:36:55 am »
Geert is correct. If you want an official, logged, researched (and obligatory) response from Sparx, you make an official request (by email, or in a bug report or a feature request).

It is quite common for users to have an official dialog with Sparx and then post the essence of their problem and the Sparx response on the forum.
Best Regards, Roy

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2441
  • Karma: +29/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #20 on: November 27, 2012, 11:47:18 am »
Quote
I was assuming that Sparx was also using the forum to answer some of the questions from their privileged position.
I don't know about privileged position, but I do have a desk by a window...  8-)

I am not able to give an official recommendation. However, it is my personal opinion that you are better off using EA's custom SQL query functionality rather than opening your EAP file in MS Access because then you can make use of the #branch# macro that SimonM mentioned earlier in this thread.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 11:47:40 am by KP »
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #21 on: November 27, 2012, 09:43:43 pm »
Anybody knows,  in the Package Browser , if the "filter" functionality is supposed to work when searching for elements when you are in the "show hierarchy" mode.

It works well if you are not in "show hierarchy" mode.

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #22 on: November 29, 2012, 09:05:53 pm »
Quote
As Geert said, the Package Browser is intended to show the elements contained in a package. Not everything that is referenced by a package. If it was intended to show the references then it would. It's just meant for a different use case from what you're trying to use it for. That doesn't make it wrong or misleading.

....

Sorry to come back again to this discussion.

Let's take a concrete example:

I have created a model with actors, use cases and requirements. The requirements are linked to the use cases.
My model is organised by Use Cases. A requirement is written in a "User Story" style: "As a 'actor name', I want to be able to .....".
When I use the package browser, I can see everything.

Now, I wanted to provide a different view on the requirements which is organised by actors. So I have created a package by actor and within each package, a requirement diagram where I dragged and dropped the requirements which are relevant to the current actor.

I then open a package browser on this package, and the result is NOTHING.

I still believe that the Package Browser should list the elements referenced in the diagram even if it was not "the intented use of the package browser".

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7814
  • Karma: +171/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #23 on: November 29, 2012, 09:31:28 pm »
Kamal,

If you want something like that you better use the List view of a diagram.
That will show you a tabular view of all elements show on a diagram.

To open this view right click on a diagram in the project browser and choose View Diagram As|List View

You can switch back and fourth between the list view and the diagram view.

Geert

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #24 on: November 29, 2012, 09:38:02 pm »
Quote
Kamal,

If you want something like that you better use the List view of a diagram.
That will show you a tabular view of all elements show on a diagram.

To open this view right click on a diagram in the project browser and choose View Diagram As|List View

You can switch back and fourth between the list view and the diagram view.

Geert

Thank you (again) Geert but it does not solve my problem.

The List view works at the diagram level and *not* at the package level.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7814
  • Karma: +171/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #25 on: November 29, 2012, 09:44:50 pm »
I know that.

If that doesn't help you then I only see two options:
1) you send a feature request to Sparx and you wait.... and wait.... and wait.... without even knowing whether or not your request will be implemented.

2) You get your hands dirty and write an sql search that show you all requirements referenced on diagrams in your currently selected package, and you have your solution this afternoon.


Geert

PS. I can help you writing the query if you want.

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #26 on: November 29, 2012, 09:50:33 pm »
Quote
I know that.

If that doesn't help you then I only see two options:
1) you send a feature request to Sparx and you wait.... and wait.... and wait.... without even knowing whether or not your request will be implemented.

2) You get your hands dirty and write an sql search that show you all requirements referenced on diagrams in your currently selected package, and you have your solution this afternoon.


Geert

PS. I can help you writing the query if you want.

I trust Sparx to be able to see the value of this request.

I can also imagine that it won't be a difficult development by adding "linked" elements in the Package Browser list.
Sparx can also put a check box in the Package Browser to specify if you want or not to see the referenced elements.

Quote
I can help you writing the query if you want.
Yes please.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7814
  • Karma: +171/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #27 on: November 29, 2012, 10:35:19 pm »
Try this:
Code: [Select]
select distinct o.ea_guid as CLASSGUID,o.Object_Type as CLASSTYPE,o.Name as Name,d.name as DiagramName ,package.name as PackageName ,package_p1.name as PackageLevel1,package_p2.name as PackageLevel2 ,package_p3.name as PackageLevel3
from ((((((t_diagram d
inner join t_diagramobjects do on do.Diagram_ID = d.Diagram_ID)
inner join t_object o on o.Object_ID = do.Object_ID)
inner join t_package package on d.package_id = package.package_id)
left join t_package package_p1 on package_p1.package_id = package.parent_id)
left join t_package package_p2 on package_p2.package_id = package_p1.parent_id)
left join t_package package_p3 on package_p3.package_id = package_p2.parent_id)
where
o.Object_Type = 'Requirement'
and package.Package_ID in (#Branch#)
and o.Name like '#WC#<Search Term>#WC#'

Geert

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2012, 10:36:35 pm »
Quote
Try this:
Code: [Select]
select distinct o.ea_guid as CLASSGUID,o.Object_Type as CLASSTYPE,o.Name as Name,d.name as DiagramName ,package.name as PackageName ,package_p1.name as PackageLevel1,package_p2.name as PackageLevel2 ,package_p3.name as PackageLevel3
from ((((((t_diagram d
inner join t_diagramobjects do on do.Diagram_ID = d.Diagram_ID)
inner join t_object o on o.Object_ID = do.Object_ID)
inner join t_package package on d.package_id = package.package_id)
left join t_package package_p1 on package_p1.package_id = package.parent_id)
left join t_package package_p2 on package_p2.package_id = package_p1.parent_id)
left join t_package package_p3 on package_p3.package_id = package_p2.parent_id)
where
o.Object_Type = 'Requirement'
and package.Package_ID in (#Branch#)
and o.Name like '#WC#<Search Term>#WC#'

Geert
Will do. Many thanks.

Kamal Hammoutene

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Package browser not showing all information
« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2012, 11:40:38 pm »
Quote
Quote
Try this:
Code: [Select]
select distinct o.ea_guid as CLASSGUID,o.Object_Type as CLASSTYPE,o.Name as Name,d.name as DiagramName ,package.name as PackageName ,package_p1.name as PackageLevel1,package_p2.name as PackageLevel2 ,package_p3.name as PackageLevel3
from ((((((t_diagram d
inner join t_diagramobjects do on do.Diagram_ID = d.Diagram_ID)
inner join t_object o on o.Object_ID = do.Object_ID)
inner join t_package package on d.package_id = package.package_id)
left join t_package package_p1 on package_p1.package_id = package.parent_id)
left join t_package package_p2 on package_p2.package_id = package_p1.parent_id)
left join t_package package_p3 on package_p3.package_id = package_p2.parent_id)
where
o.Object_Type = 'Requirement'
and package.Package_ID in (#Branch#)
and o.Name like '#WC#<Search Term>#WC#'

Geert
Will do. Many thanks.
Works well as a temporary solution. Thanks Geert.
I am expecting Sparx to give their inputs on this topic because as I said previously, we shouldn't query the database directly.