Author Topic: Some questions related to code generation / C++  (Read 908 times)

32aacp

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
Some questions related to code generation / C++
« on: May 17, 2013, 07:33:54 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to EA and I have some questions to code generation which I could not answer by myself with trying out. So I've played around to figure some things out and also have modified templates to get the code style I want. Here are the questions which are left open:

1. We have quite big C++ libraries which use STL-Containers. I tried to bring them into the class definitions so they could be generated as type of attributes. I've tried to set up a vector as collection class and defining a association between the two related classes following these instructions, but had no success. I defined the collection class in the global code generation options for C++ and also for the class(es), further I added a association with defined multiplicity.
It seems to me that the only way for now is just enter the vector with needed class as type into the attribute definition (as it is done by code import). Is there something special I have to consider or aren't the collection classes made for this purpose?

2. Getters and setters can be generated automically. The setters use "newVal" as parametername. If I change afterwards the paramaetername these are generated right for the parameterlist but the method body still uses "newVal". Can this behavior be fixed so that the body uses the right name?

3. For attributes default values can be defined. If I do that in the generated code this isn't considered (no initialisation in constructor). How can I achieve that the attribute initialization with the default values are created by code generation?

4. I've modified some code generation templates and saw the templates for namespaces (I didn't modify them). At the moment using statements are generated like:
using namespace namespace1::namespace2::Class;