Author Topic: EA v12 (BETA) feedback  (Read 11981 times)

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« on: November 07, 2014, 11:33:48 pm »
I just installed EA v12 and looked around a bit.
Here are my first impressions:

- I lost my workpace layouts !?! Why? I needed those, they worked for me and now I have to redo them. Pretty annoying start.

- BreadCrum/Navigation bar on top is nice. The "back/forward" arrows promise something much better, but unfortunately they don't deliver. Pressing the "back" button only selects the parent package in the project browser, not the previously opened diagram.

- The properties dialogs. OMG Everything is different, and they have re-instated tabs, TABS EVERYWHERE!!! Anyone who had any documentation about EA can now start to rewrite (and copy/paste printscreens) because it all look very different now.

What are your first impressions?

philchudley

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 523
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • UML/EA Principal Consultant / Trainer
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2014, 12:04:11 am »
Pretty much agree with you Geert

Only had a 30min "play" so far, will have a more in depth "play" next week

I was a little surprised when I opened a Diagram to see NO TOOLBOX!

Had to go hunting for it, I would guess most seasoned users would find that

a) Confusing
b) Unexpected
c) Annoying

Keep you posted on my opinions

Cheers

Phil
follow me on Twitter

@SparxEAGuru

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2014, 12:46:40 am »
Quote
I was a little surprised when I opened a Diagram to see NO TOOLBOX!
Found it!

I think we have found our new "red triangle" :o

Geert

OpenIT Solutions

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2014, 01:33:37 am »
Hi,

Well I like the new look and feel - but unless they have something up their sleeve - that's all we have here - a new look and feel.

Since v9 I've been holding out for an interactive portal solution that presents role based views of model content and allows my users to edit element properties, comment on content, raise and follow change requests etc...was really hoping v12 would deliver something like that...

Guess i'll need to look again at your offering Geert ! :-)...

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2014, 01:39:22 am »
Luckily I have not been invited to the beta test. For the screenshots in my books I'll likely have to find a way to include the EA version somewhere :-(

q.

P.S. Oh. just notice that the beta is for public use.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2014, 01:40:30 am by qwerty »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2014, 01:46:38 am »
I tried to install but got an error message: SSOdbcFb: Config uninstall failed with 13. I never ever used that firebird stuff. WTH?

q.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2014, 01:54:20 am »
Doesn't look too bad. But still the attributes/operations need to open in a separate window. Why can't these stay in the same properties window as that of the element itself? So the new style looks more like marketing driven rather than intended by practical use improvements.

Also, when already mangling all those windows why not introducing a configuration of what one wants to see? This also has been asked for many times.

q.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2014, 02:36:10 am »
BTW: Of course we have menu migrations. SETTINGS is now to be found under PROJECT/Settings (well, the menu is all uppercase now?!).

q.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2014, 09:14:36 am »
Where is the SQL search (Search Builder)?

Argh. You need to create a SQL search to open the window part >:(

q.

Aaron B

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 868
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2014, 09:52:28 am »
@qwerty RE: SQL Search - If you are looking for the SQL Scratch Pad, click the "Edit Search" button on the toolbar of the search window.  It's a couple of icons to the right of the "New Search" button.

AndyJ

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 330
  • Karma: +5/-2
  • It's only a model
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2014, 10:19:44 am »
Only thing I've bumped into so far is a possible glitch when importing an XML Schema (XSD) file.

Sparx are investigating it to see what's going on.

It will confuse my users when they see me using the new interface.

(That's probably a good thing, keep 'em on their toes...)
Sun Tzu: "If you sit by the river long enough, eventually the body of MS Visio floats past."

VK

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2014, 10:27:21 am »
@qwerty RE: Menu in uppercase - this is due to the Visual Style, which can be changed using the following menu option : View -> Visual Style -> Select Visual Style

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2014, 05:29:33 pm »
@Aaron: Found it. Thanks
@VK: There's a ton of radio buttons. Which one? I curiously clicked the Carbon the very first time (which I did not like at all) and switched back to VS13 (which I thought was the default). VS12 also shows upper case.

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2014, 06:51:12 pm »
I can't seem to find where they hid the MDG Technologies option (where you can select/deselect which MDG's you want to use)

Anyone found that one yet?

Geert

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA v12 (BETA) feedback
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2014, 06:54:25 pm »
Ha, found it myself.
It is now hidden in Project|Settings|MDG Technologies...

Geert