Author Topic: Shape scripts(color of an element with conditions)  (Read 1284 times)

Jokew

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
Shape scripts(color of an element with conditions)
« on: June 26, 2015, 06:11:11 pm »
Hi!

I am relatively new to Enterprise Architect and I am having trouble changing the color of an element (A business function in this case (archimate 2.0)).

I want the color of the element to depend on how many relations it has. I want to visualize some sort of heatmap so that you can se which elements has the most relations easily (e.g few realtions would be green and a moderate amount of relations would be yellow and a vast amount of relations would be red).

Is there anyway to do this using shape scripts? If not, is there anyway to do this at all?

I would be forever grateful if anyone could assist me in this or point me in the right direction.

Regards Jokew

qwerty

• EA Guru
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Shape scripts(color of an element with conditi
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2015, 06:42:47 pm »
It's possible, but (very) difficult. So the simple answer would be: no, not possible.

The complicated (condensed) answer: you need to modify the shape script for that Archimate element, call an add-in to count the # of relations and change the color of the body.

Another way could be to run a script to do the same. This is feasible (indeed rather easy) if the Archimate element allows manual color changes.

q.

Jokew

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2015, 07:00:14 pm »
Okey so it is possible!
I really want this to work so I will try it the hard way if I have to. When you say add-in, you mean I should call a third-party extension from the shape script?

Another way could be to run a script to do the same. This is feasible (indeed rather easy) if the Archimate element allows manual color changes.