Author Topic: <<decisionInput>>  (Read 531 times)

Harbottle

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
<<decisionInput>>
« on: September 27, 2006, 06:46:32 am »
Does EA support <<decisionInput>> on decisions? I can't seem to find it, and am loathe to attempt to use "Notes" and bodge it.  I'd like to be able to link an existing action to a decision.

I can't work out how to create a "grouping" of input parameters on an activity in order to implement an "Or" relationship...


Jan ´Bary´ Glas

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 408
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Bary
    • View Profile
Re: <<decisionInput>>
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2006, 07:08:51 am »
Superstructure defines this:

I can do it this way:

But the fact is, that I do not know about this feature in EA (I used a note).
HTH, Bary
Jan 'Bary' Glas

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: <<decisionInput>>
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2006, 07:55:32 am »
Quote
Does EA support <<decisionInput>> on decisions? I can't seem to find it, and am loathe to attempt to use "Notes" and bodge it.  I'd like to be able to link an existing action to a decision.

I can't work out how to create a "grouping" of input parameters on an activity in order to implement an "Or" relationship...

Superstructure actually defines «decisionInput»
to be rendered as a Note.  You can make a "feature Linked" note to a constraint of type decisionInput.  The problem you have is that EA doesn't allow the stereotyping of Notes via the UI, but you can do it via the database directly.

Creating such a note and setting the stereotype will get the rendering Bary created (except that the «decisionInput» will be a true stereotype).

HTH,
Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Harbottle

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: <<decisionInput>>
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2006, 08:23:32 am »
Quote
Superstructure actually defines «decisionInput»
to be rendered as a Note.  You can make a "feature Linked" note to a constraint of type decisionInput.  The problem you have is that EA doesn't allow the stereotyping of Notes via the UI, but you can do it via the database directly.

Creating such a note and setting the stereotype will get the rendering Bary created (except that the «decisionInput» will be a true stereotype).

HTH,
Paolo


Thanks, I did this and it works.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 08:24:05 am by Harbottle »

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2436
  • Karma: +29/-2
    • View Profile
Re: <<decisionInput>>
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2006, 03:36:10 pm »
Quote
The problem you have is that EA doesn't allow the stereotyping of Notes via the UI


You can use the Properties window (Alt+1).
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: <<decisionInput>>
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2006, 03:45:27 pm »
Quote

You can use the Properties window (Alt+1).
OK,  thanks for that Neil, BUT it does need to be on the Properties dialog as welll...

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!