Author Topic: synchronize EA with Active directory  (Read 1666 times)

Yehuda

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
synchronize EA with Active directory
« on: March 25, 2010, 03:52:03 am »

Hi,
Is there a way to synchronize EA with Active directory group(s)?
i.e. - When a user is added to A.D. group it will automatically be previlidged with EA security permitions (according to his group)?
I have notice the improt option - can it be invoked using the automation Model, in order to achieve this synchronization?
Can users be deleted from EA security group  by automation/

Thanks in advance,
Yehuda

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7740
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re:  synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 05:57:31 pm »
I haven't found anything in the API to manage security users.
If you really need to you can ofcourse edit the database directly, but that should be considered a last resort.

Geert

Yehuda

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2010, 08:49:40 pm »
Thanks Greet for your reply. I think that I'll keep using the Version control based permissions for now.
Managing additinal user groups in EA requires too much maintenance.

Yehuda
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 08:50:27 pm by yassulin »

metasprite

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 11:32:42 am »
Hiyas,
Any chance this can be done now... nearly seven years later?
Cheers, Donna.

Glassboy

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +52/-54
    • View Profile
Re: synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2017, 03:02:16 pm »
Hiyas,
Any chance this can be done now... nearly seven years later?
Cheers, Donna.

If you have an Identity Management solution chances are there's an API call that will create a user.

It's not really the role of EA to become an IAM.

Uffe

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • Karma: +81/-5
  • Flutes: 1; Clarinets: 1; Saxes: 5 and counting
    • View Profile
Re: synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2017, 08:28:52 pm »
Hello Donna,


Although AD groups can be used to control access to licenses, they can't be used to manage project access.

But I can't help thinking it should be doable. In fact I've got some ideas on how it could be achieved, but it would mean some restrictions on how you deploy your EA projects.

It would also require a greater development effort than I'm prepared to take on as a one-man EA consultant. But if there's a potential customer out there this is one of those things I'd love to get stuck into. The un-enterprise-iness is one of my pet peeves with EA, and an effective AD integration would go a fair way towards resolving that.


/Uffe
My theories are always correct, just apply them to the right reality.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5882
  • Karma: +71/-78
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2017, 10:49:52 am »
Hello Donna,


Although AD groups can be used to control access to licenses, they can't be used to manage project access.

But I can't help thinking it should be doable. In fact I've got some ideas on how it could be achieved, but it would mean some restrictions on how you deploy your EA projects.

It would also require a greater development effort than I'm prepared to take on as a one-man EA consultant. But if there's a potential customer out there this is one of those things I'd love to get stuck into. The un-enterprise-iness is one of my pet peeves with EA, and an effective AD integration would go a fair way towards resolving that.


/Uffe
(My emphasis)

You and a pile of us!  But then, as we know, we live in a post-truth environment where words no longer mean anything.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7740
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2017, 06:01:11 am »
In think currently you can actually assign an AD group to a EA security group can't you?
I haven't actually used it, but at the group level there's a checkbox "link to Active Directory" and there is a Sync button that I suppose will synchronize the EA users with the AD users of that group.

Geert

Glassboy

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +52/-54
    • View Profile
Re: synchronize EA with Active directory
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2017, 08:06:52 am »
It would also require a greater development effort than I'm prepared to take on as a one-man EA consultant. But if there's a potential customer out there this is one of those things I'd love to get stuck into. The un-enterprise-iness is one of my pet peeves with EA, and an effective AD integration would go a fair way towards resolving that.

Be very careful what you wish for.