Author Topic: "Paste Element": show name; all current  (Read 542 times)

Uffe

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1073
  • Karma: +81/-5
  • Flutes: 1; Clarinets: 1; Saxes: 5 and counting
    • View Profile
"Paste Element": show name; all current
« on: October 16, 2013, 10:17:23 pm »
Hej!


The Paste Element dialog asks you how to paste an element; as link, instance, etc. The Options button allows you to change the default behaviour for this dialog.

How about adding a checkbox "Do this for all current items"?

This would only be enabled if you were pasting multiple elements, and would cause all elements to be pasted the same way (suppressing the subsequent Paste Element dialogs).

In addition, when pasting multiple elements (and not checking the hypothetical box), it'd be useful to see the element's type and name in the dialog, maybe in the title bar: "Paste Class MyClass".


/Uffe
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 10:17:36 pm by Uffe »
My theories are always correct, just apply them to the right reality.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: "Paste Element": show name; all current
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2013, 11:51:08 pm »
When you are at it: when dragging multiple elements from the browser onto the diagram and have not set a default you are being asked for any single element how to insert it. Even if you set the default while doing that you get asked for all further elements. Annoying...

q.

skiwi

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1727
  • Karma: +23/-49
    • View Profile
Re: "Paste Element": show name; all current
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, 01:12:09 pm »
+1
Orthogonality rules
Using EA12.1 (1229) on Windows 10 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2014 R2 & Access2003/JET4.0