Author Topic: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project  (Read 14474 times)

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
I am developing a meta model and would like to apply it to an existing model. I would appreciate some advice tegarding the following;

1) How do I apply the meta model to an existing project?
2) How can I include existing profiles into the meta model (aka Database Engineering)?
3) How do I customise existing profiles (aka Database Engineering)?
4) How can I get this done iteratively? I have version 0.5 of the meta model but I strongly suspect that quite a number of elements will be added to the meta model overtime?

The project is stored in a SQL Server database repository.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2016, 05:45:55 am »
1) depending on the number of elements in the model I would probably write a script to add the required sterotypes
2) 3) you can extend existing profiles. See http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/12.1/building_models/non-uml_metatypes.html, you cannot change existing profiles.
2) More or less the same way you do it the first time, with a script if needed.

Geert

Glassboy

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 896
  • Karma: +52/-54
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2016, 07:07:51 am »
Depending on the size and package structure rather than writing a script, it may just be easier to open the package in list view and edit the elements directly.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8952
  • Karma: +136/-123
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2016, 07:54:13 am »
Applying any MDG is now simply by adding the appropriate stereotype to the element. This can be done manually or via a script. The latter is nice if you can determine the right set automatically. Else you'd probably need to go the manual way. AFAIK (haven't tried, but remember this from a post) you can drag the right element from the MDG toolbox onto the element to change and it will take its properties.

q.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2016, 10:52:44 am »
Applying any MDG is now simply by adding the appropriate stereotype to the element. This can be done manually or via a script. The latter is nice if you can determine the right set automatically. Else you'd probably need to go the manual way. AFAIK (haven't tried, but remember this from a post) you can drag the right element from the MDG toolbox onto the element to change and it will take its properties.

q.
I suspect "here be dragons". 

I'm not sure we're necessarily understanding what the OP is asking.

But, assuming it's:  "I've created my own MDG and I want to apply it to an existing repository", I suspect q's point about dragging and dropping the new element type over the old element type MANUALLY is the best option as (hopefully) Sparx have (behind the scene) executed the use cases involved.

Trying to do it via scripts (especially if you're not familiar with EA's internals) could e a recipe for disaster.  Making sure "all the i's are crossed and t's dotted" :) is not trivial.  It's not rocket science, but not trivial.

We are evolving multiple MDGs into one while the repository is "in flight" and it's doable, but there's a lot of "balls to keep in the air".  We have nearly 80,000 items so, manual is not possible.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2016, 08:40:59 pm »
Thanks to all for the replies.
Regarding,
I suspect "here be dragons". 

I'm not sure we're necessarily understanding what the OP is asking.

But, assuming it's:  "I've created my own MDG and I want to apply it to an existing repository", I suspect q's point about dragging and dropping the new element type over the old element type MANUALLY is the best option as (hopefully) Sparx have (behind the scene) executed the use cases involved.

Trying to do it via scripts (especially if you're not familiar with EA's internals) could e a recipe for disaster.  Making sure "all the i's are crossed and t's dotted" :) is not trivial.  It's not rocket science, but not trivial.

We are evolving multiple MDGs into one while the repository is "in flight" and it's doable, but there's a lot of "balls to keep in the air".  We have nearly 80,000 items so, manual is not possible.

Paolo
- There is an EA meta model
- The meta model has not been exported to an MDG because it is not complete, I will rather include changes to existing profiles
- Points 1, 2, and 3 on my OP refer to the creation of the meta model
- Point 4 applies to applying an evolving meta model, possibly using an MDG, to an exisitng "in flight" repository. Doing this manually is not very realistic becuase of the number of elements in the repository


Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2016, 10:58:41 pm »
2) 3) you can extend existing profiles. See http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/12.1/building_models/non-uml_metatypes.html, you cannot change existing profiles.
Geert
Somehow I sense this is not as straight forward as it may sound. The help in the above link reads:
Quote
In the Project Browser, locate the Package with the <<profile>> Stereotype and open its child diagram.

If you do not have an existing <<profile>> Package, use the 'MDG Technology Builder' option in the Model Wizard to create a new technology, then open the diagram from the newly created <<profile>> Package.
 
But I, of course, cannot see a 'MDG Technology Builder' on my Model Wizard. What am I missing here?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2016, 11:02:20 pm »
You are missing the MDG Technology Builder MDG technology.

Geert

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2016, 11:12:18 pm »
You are missing the MDG Technology Builder MDG technology.

Geert
What do you exactly mean? I am using a Coporate edition and have an option under Tools called Generate MDG Technology File which does virtually nothing, of course I might have forgotten how to use it.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2016, 11:17:40 pm »
Extensions|MDG Technologies and then check the technology called "MDG Technology Builder"

Geert

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2016, 11:28:21 pm »
Extensions|MDG Technologies and then check the technology called "MDG Technology Builder"

Geert
Version 1.

I cam even see the MDG I want to generate, it says location: Model.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2016, 11:39:35 pm »
You can to check the box next to the MDG technology "MDG Technology Builder" to make it active.
That MDG technology contains toolboxes and helpers to create MDG technologies.

Geert

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2016, 11:51:46 pm »
You can to check the box next to the MDG technology "MDG Technology Builder" to make it active.
That MDG technology contains toolboxes and helpers to create MDG technologies.

Geert
It is enabled and active. What next, where can I find the helpers and toolboxes?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Developing a meta model and aplying it to an existing project
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2016, 12:30:17 am »
http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/12.1/building_models/umlprofiles_2.html

Geert
Yes Geert, I know about this link and I have followed the steps in http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/12.1/building_models/creatingmdgtechnologies.html. Looking at the ouput, the problem must be that the wizard does let me select any Profiles, Patterns or Diagrams.