Author Topic: Glossary Export?  (Read 1407 times)

ssands

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Glossary Export?
« on: February 28, 2017, 11:50:10 am »
Is there a way to export the Glossary to a csv or similar type file? I would like to include the contents in a paper I'm writing, but I don't see a way to get at the data.

VKN

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2017, 01:08:42 pm »
Yes there is but looks like it doesn't work properly. It's losing the first (Term) column in the target text editor.
This problem has been already reported to sparx support.

Just for (future) reference:
Open the Glossary window (ALT+2)
Select all the glossary rows then do CTRL+C
Open a text editor and do CTRL+V

ssands

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2017, 04:53:12 pm »
Thanks! Much appreciated.
Bummer about that first column missing though...kind of a critical part!

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2464
  • Karma: +30/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2017, 04:57:16 pm »
You can try

Code: [Select]
SELECT * FROM t_glossary
from the SQL Scratch Pad and then copy and paste the results of that.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 05:18:48 pm by KP »
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

peterc

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2017, 03:08:02 am »
You can export the glossary through a document template, which means you can save it as a document fragment to include:
Create a template
Expand "Model" and select "Glossary"
Right click where it says and insert glossary fields - you'll want at least Term and Meaning; you might want Type.

ssands

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2017, 06:11:04 am »
You can try

Code: [Select]
SELECT * FROM t_glossary
from the SQL Scratch Pad and then copy and paste the results of that.
This sounds good, but I'm getting the error: "The DB Builder is note connected to a Data Model. Please connect and try again".
I know I've done this easily before but it's been awhile and I am still pretty lost with the ribbon (and I like ribbons).
Any help appreciated.

ssands

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2017, 06:11:29 am »
You can export the glossary through a document template, which means you can save it as a document fragment to include:
Create a template
Expand "Model" and select "Glossary"
Right click where it says and insert glossary fields - you'll want at least Term and Meaning; you might want Type.
Thanks for this. I'll try it out.

ssands

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2017, 06:28:23 am »
You can try

Code: [Select]
SELECT * FROM t_glossary
from the SQL Scratch Pad and then copy and paste the results of that.

This sounds good, but I'm getting the error: "The DB Builder is note connected to a Data Model. Please connect and try again".
I know I've done this easily before but it's been awhile and I am still pretty lost with the ribbon (and I like ribbons).
Any help appreciated.
Has this changed much since V12? I seem to recall it was all much clearer and easier (but I could be wrong...)
In particular, I'm on this page: http://www.sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/13.0/model_domains/dbconnection.html
and I'm lost trying to follow the instructions. Like, how do I execute steps 2 and 3. I don't see where or how that is done.
I also do not see any mention of how to connect to my model, which is under SVN source control so there is a bunch of files.

hd

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2017, 07:38:46 am »
Ribbon > Start > Search > Search in Model.  Third icon after the Go arrow to get to the SQL Scratch Pad.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 08:26:37 am by hd »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9205
  • Karma: +140/-132
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2017, 08:29:26 am »
How about Ctrl-F to open the search pane? No longer working in V13?

q.

ssands

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Glossary Export?
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2017, 08:56:53 am »
Ribbon > Start > Search > Search in Model.  Third icon after the Go arrow to get to the SQL Scratch Pad.
Thanks! I got stuck in the Database Builder SQL Scratch pad.
Much appreciated.