Author Topic: Copy search result should use tabs iso. semi-colon  (Read 454 times)

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8969
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Copy search result should use tabs iso. semi-colon
« on: April 06, 2017, 08:44:34 pm »
When you Ctrl-C the result of a SQL query, EA separates the result string with semi-colon. But of course 1/4 of all fields itself contain semi-colon separated lists. So using the result is best a good guess work. So rather to use the dreaded semi-colon EA should use a tab char. Or make it an optional choice.

q.

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6200
  • Karma: +47/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Copy search result should use tabs iso. semi-colon
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2017, 08:24:15 am »
I think it uses the locale for separators specified in Windows. (Which would be why us comma users have never seen it as a problem)
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7747
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Copy search result should use tabs iso. semi-colon
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2017, 04:05:55 pm »
More problematic is are the newlines in the "CSV" export (which isn't fully CSV compatible)
I just recently  wrote an excel wrapper script to import/export to excel directly  in order to avoid these types of issues.
See https://github.com/GeertBellekens/Enterprise-Architect-VBScript-Library/blob/master/Framework/Utils/ExcelFile.vbs

Geert

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8969
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Copy search result should use tabs iso. semi-colon
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2017, 07:06:30 pm »
Sigh. Us and them. More popular than ever...

q.

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 884
  • Karma: +37/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Copy search result should use tabs iso. semi-colon
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2017, 06:40:00 pm »
Hi,

To avoid the trouble with *.csv, and to make it more convenient hoTools (https://github.com/Helmut-Ortmann/EnterpriseArchitect_hoTools/wiki) supports:
- *.csv to Excel
- SQL search results to Excel

I may in future, like Geert, integrate a wrapper for all kind of EA Searches

Kind regards,

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)