Author Topic: Cross Package Export/Import  (Read 814 times)

egeesken

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Cross Package Export/Import
« on: April 20, 2017, 12:21:21 am »
Hi,
maybe this problem is a known problem for this community but I am fighting with it and cannot solve it.
We are on the way to redocument a huge Java Web Application. We have imported all the Java-Classes in the package java.
And in several more business oriented packages we are analysing and documenting the process flow using Sequence Diagrams and Activity Diagrams.
These diagrams are all referencing classes from the package java.

When we are now exporting the business packages and importing the XMI-Files on our different locations (a central repository is not possible as of security policies) the information in the diagrams about the linked classes and methods is not imported. The lifelines of the classes are visible, the method calls and names are gone.
I tried it with the normal Export/Import, I both tried XMI 1.1 and 2.1.
I tried it with "Merge package with XMI-File", the Baseline Comparator.

Always the same result: the linked information/object is not imported.
Is there a correct way of exporting and importing packages?

My environment is Enterprise Architect 13.0, Windows 10

Any help is appreciated.
Regards
Edmund


Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8035
  • Karma: +183/-22
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Cross Package Export/Import
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 02:17:36 am »
Make sure to use instances of your classes as lifelines in your sequence diagrams.

If you use them as link you will surely loose information.

Geert

egeesken

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Cross Package Export/Import
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 11:41:37 pm »
Perfect, I have change the Classes from Link to Lifeline when importing them into the diagrams and I can export and import without problems.

Thank you

Regards
Edmund

egeesken

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Cross Package Export/Import
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2017, 03:57:42 pm »
Sorry,
I have one further question to this topic.
My project leader is asking me if this behavior is more like a bug (so we should open a bug) or a documented feature?

Regards
Edmund

VKN

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Cross Package Export/Import
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2017, 04:51:16 pm »
.. if this behavior is more like a bug (so we should open a bug) or a documented feature?
Not a bug, that is the expected behavior. When a package is exported, packages/elements inside of that package only are exported.
If suitable, you should be exporting a top level package.