Author Topic: Can't add attributes or operations using toolbox???  (Read 302 times)

Richard Freggi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Can't add attributes or operations using toolbox???
« on: August 01, 2017, 04:25:49 pm »
Using the basic UML 2 technology (default setting in EA) I can add attributes and operations to classes using the project browser or by double clicking on each class on the diagram; but I cannot drag attributes or operations from the toolbox over the class: I get an error message "Unknown/illegal base type 'Attribute'  Command UML: Attribute".  User guide search shows that this is due to wrong metaclass - I suppose I'm using these toolbox elements in wrong way... but then what is the right way to use them?  Thanks!!!
(p.s. crosspost notice: in separate post I'm asking for help to get attribute default scope = public)

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2436
  • Karma: +29/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add attributes or operations using toolbox???
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2017, 04:52:35 pm »
I don't think it has ever been possible to drop unstereotyped attributes or operations from a custom toolbox. Only stereotyped attributes and operations. If you think that's worth a bug report, please use the "Report a Bug" link at the bottom of the page.
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add attributes or operations using toolbox???
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2017, 04:56:56 pm »
I don't think it has ever been possible to drop unstereotyped attributes or operations from a custom toolbox. Only stereotyped attributes and operations. If you think that's worth a bug report, please use the "Report a Bug" link at the bottom of the page.
The notional "inconsistency" warrants a bug report.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Richard Freggi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add attributes or operations using toolbox???
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2017, 06:12:45 pm »
Thank you for quick clarification!  So I guess it really depends on UML 2.5 metamodel to decide if what I want to do (add unstereotyped attribute/operation to class) is legal or not.  I think full compliance with UML spec is important... would not want to 'bastardize' the tool just to add this small convenience.

But then again, this action is possible by right clicking on model explorer or on the class in the diagram... so why not via the toolbox?  And what is the correct use of attributes and operations in the toolbox?  Forum moderator or EA gurus any takers for this question?