Author Topic: Model Search: More than one Search Term?  (Read 445 times)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« on: September 22, 2017, 04:47:14 pm »
It would be good if we could have more than one Search Term per Model Search.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +37/-14
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2017, 05:32:04 pm »
+10
Best regards,

Peter Heintz

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 884
  • Karma: +37/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2017, 02:22:09 am »
Hello,

maybe using a professional query tool would solve this issue.

For complex queries, I use LINQPad:
- LINQ to SQL to write database independent queries
- Combine this with a .net language (C#, VB, F#)
- Let the compiler find your errors with Intellisense
- A scratch pad  to quickly play around
- If you want to pass EA information use hoTools which provides an interface
- No limitation in complexity

Ok, this isn't a solution to write one query a month.

Kind regards,

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2017, 10:02:55 am »
Hello,

maybe using a professional query tool would solve this issue.

For complex queries, I use LINQPad:
- LINQ to SQL to write database independent queries
- Combine this with a .net language (C#, VB, F#)
- Let the compiler find your errors with Intellisense
- A scratch pad  to quickly play around
- If you want to pass EA information use hoTools which provides an interface
- No limitation in complexity

Ok, this isn't a solution to write one query a month.

Kind regards,

Helmut
It's about the User Interface, not the queries.  We can write as complex queries as we like (and have done for over a decade) and stick them ion the appropriate MDG for users to access.  Some queries require more than one independent parameter; so there's no way to supply them.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 884
  • Karma: +37/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2017, 11:56:08 pm »
Hi Paola,

it's a useful feature request to support more than one <Search Term>.

Kind regards,

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

Sunshine

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 500
  • Karma: +33/-1
  • Amicorum omnia communia
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2017, 12:29:23 pm »
Maybe its because it is in the afternoon and I've just had a big lunch but I'm  missing something here as I thought the query builder provided multiple <search terms>.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
  • Karma: +71/-77
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2017, 04:45:04 pm »
Maybe its because it is in the afternoon and I've just had a big lunch but I'm  missing something here as I thought the query builder provided multiple <search terms>.
It's the long lunch!  ;)   Sparx have submitted a Feature Request for more than one <Search Term>

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Glassboy

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 896
  • Karma: +52/-54
    • View Profile
Re: Model Search: More than one Search Term?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2017, 08:02:16 am »
Maybe its because it is in the afternoon and I've just had a big lunch but I'm  missing something here as I thought the query builder provided multiple <search terms>.
It's the long lunch!  ;)   

Don't encourage him.  It's a cushy gig being a public servant.