Author Topic: EA 11 and Windows 10  (Read 275 times)

Ted Speers

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
EA 11 and Windows 10
« on: November 23, 2017, 06:21:43 am »
Just upgraded to Windows 10 and EA 11 crashes pretty much any time you do something.

I notice references to this on the forum but no fixes other than a suggestion to upgrade to EA13.

Is that my only recourse or can EA 11 and Windows 10 coexist?

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6200
  • Karma: +47/-5
    • View Profile
Re: EA 11 and Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 08:47:09 am »
As far as I am aware there is no way to make them co-exist.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

Ted Speers

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA 11 and Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2017, 03:12:42 am »
 :(

Thanks though for the clear response.

I will ask Microsoft to fix the problem and will let you know when they are done.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA 11 and Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2017, 03:32:51 am »
:(

Thanks though for the clear response.

I will ask Microsoft to fix the problem and will let you know when they are done.
Don't you think it will be faster to upgrade EA to version 12 or 13?
Version 11 is the Millennium of EA anyway  :-X

Geert

Glassboy

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +52/-54
    • View Profile
Re: EA 11 and Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2017, 07:50:44 am »
:(

Thanks though for the clear response.

I will ask Microsoft to fix the problem and will let you know when they are done.

Microsoft did fix the problem.  They made a fundamental change in the way GDI is implemented which unfortunately broke an old version of EA.  The response by Sparx was to release newer versions of EA which don't have the underlying issue.  The resolution to your issue is to upgrade beyond v11.  Email sales and get a quote for maintenance on your existing licence.

Uffe

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1073
  • Karma: +81/-5
  • Flutes: 1; Clarinets: 1; Saxes: 5 and counting
    • View Profile
Re: EA 11 and Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2017, 10:57:22 pm »
If you've already upgraded and are in a bind, as a holdover solution you might consider using a virtual machine. Oracle's VirtualBox is free for at least personal use (don't know about professional) and simple to set up. You can make it integrate pretty seamlessly with your local network and even your host desktop if you like.

Of course, you also need a Windows 7 license for this approach to work.


/Uffe
My theories are always correct, just apply them to the right reality.

Glassboy

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +52/-54
    • View Profile
Re: EA 11 and Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2017, 07:22:28 am »
If you've already upgraded and are in a bind, as a holdover solution you might consider using a virtual machine. Oracle's VirtualBox is free for at least personal use (don't know about professional) and simple to set up. You can make it integrate pretty seamlessly with your local network and even your host desktop if you like.

Of course, you also need a Windows 7 license for this approach to work.

And potentially an unpatched Windows 7 installation.  From a security perspective it's a much better idea to upgrade EA.