Author Topic: Basic Import to sysML blocks  (Read 145 times)

chris pearce

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Basic Import to sysML blocks
« on: November 23, 2017, 10:33:29 pm »
I have a number of system elements in a separate requirements database tool and want to import them to EA using eadocx or the Native import tool.  If you do this the association with the MDG plugin is lost and the "magic" of the plugin to render the properties, parts and references is also lost.   I want to be able to use eadocx as a sync tool between the 2 platforms but i think the problem lays within EA in how it associates a basic "class" element with its MDG plug in and this gets lost in the translation.

EA V13 systems engineering edition, V13 Corporate edition + sysML MDG plugin 

Any ideas on the basics ?  I'm moderately familiar with the t_object table and decreasingly so therein!

Thanks for any insights...

CP

chris pearce

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic Import to sysML blocks
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 11:25:48 pm »

So to summarise :

What fields in an EA import do i have to set to automatically create / update an element such that it is handled as a sysML 1.3 <<block>>, and retains all associations of the MDG ?

(Then other stereotypes but lets answer this one first)

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Basic Import to sysML blocks
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2017, 02:30:53 am »
There are two way to deal with stereotypes.

You can either use the
- regular Stereotype field: In this case EA will try to guess the stereotype you really mean. So if you use «block» then it will search the stereotypes table and the mdg to find a corresponding stereotype. So if you are lucky there is only one «block» stereotype and EA guesses it right. If not all tagged values seem to be created then you can always synchronize the stereotype (either in code or right click on the corresponding item in the toolbox

- the StereotypeEx field: This is the preferred way. This field accepts fully qualified stereotypes such as "MyProfile::MyStereotype" and you can also enter multiple stereotypes separated by a ",". This is a 100% sure way to make sure you are using the correct stereotype from the correct profile.

Geert

chris pearce

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic Import to sysML blocks
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2017, 03:36:43 am »
thanks Geert,

I tried an import with the following test file

Code: [Select]
Stereotype,Fully Qualified Stereotype,Name,Notes,Alias,Type,GUID,Profile Metatype
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock10,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.3::block,TestBlock11,,,Class,,SysML1.3::Block
block,SysML1.3::block,TestBlock12,,,Class,,SysML1.3::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock13,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock14,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock15,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock16,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock17,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock18,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock19,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock20,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock21,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock22,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock23,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock24,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock25,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block
block,SysML1.1::block,TestBlock26,,,Class,,SysML1.1::Block

And although it appears to make sysML 1.3 blocks  the behaviour of the MDG plugin in the back ground ignores the aggregations made in the a diagram to automatically create the "parts" in the parent and show the properties fields in the <<block>> :-[


Dont know if you can post images but a picture would paint a thousand words...

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7727
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Basic Import to sysML blocks
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2017, 03:35:32 pm »
Chris,

You can post images by first uploading it to a public image hosting site and then using the "image" tag on this forum with the url to that image.

Are you sure you have the right metatype (Class) for the block element?

Geert

chris pearce

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic Import to sysML blocks
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2017, 11:25:19 pm »
This DOES work if i use the correct stereotype "ahem"  :-[

Code: [Select]
Fully Qualified Stereotype Name Notes Alias Type GUID Profile Metatype
block SysML1.3::block TestBlock50 Class SysML1.3::block
block SysML1.3::block TestBlock51 Class SysML1.3::block
block SysML1.3::block TestBlock52 Class SysML1.3::block
block SysML1.3::block TestBlock53 Class SysML1.3::block
block SysML1.3::block TestBlock54 Class SysML1.3::block
block SysML1.3::block TestBlock55 Class SysML1.3::block

The answer : SysML1.3::block  as fully qualified Stereotype and profile meta data does work and attaches the MDG functionality correctly :-)

Thanks Geert  ...