Author Topic: GUID of a diagram  (Read 45 times)

Viking

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +1/-2
    • View Profile
GUID of a diagram
« on: December 09, 2017, 05:15:24 am »
Hello together,

I thought that finding out the GUID of a diagram without using a script is simple. But it is not. The property filed is empty. The question has already been asked, but no answer was given: http://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php?topic=12845.0.

Could someody give me the answer, please? Many thanks in advance, V.


qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8952
  • Karma: +136/-123
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: GUID of a diagram
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2017, 10:08:19 am »
Context menu: Copy GUID

q.

Shegit Brahm

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GUID of a diagram
« Reply #2 on: Today at 06:36:27 pm »
Sorry Viking,

you may expore your eap-file as database and find an ea_guid column inside table t_diagram - but that's only to fool you.

Diagrams don't have their own ea_guid.

If any is shown than the one from the package they are in. Because searching for the ea_guid of t_diagrams always leads me to the packages.

Cheers,
Shegit.
« Last Edit: Today at 06:41:32 pm by Shegit Brahm »

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7729
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: GUID of a diagram
« Reply #3 on: Today at 07:01:49 pm »
Sorry Viking,

you may expore your eap-file as database and find an ea_guid column inside table t_diagram - but that's only to fool you.

Diagrams don't have their own ea_guid.

If any is shown than the one from the package they are in. Because searching for the ea_guid of t_diagrams always leads me to the packages.

Cheers,
Shegit.

That is just wrong. Diagrams have guid's just like almost anything else in the EA world.

Geert

Shegit Brahm

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GUID of a diagram
« Reply #4 on: Today at 07:42:01 pm »
Well, I'm here to learn: please upload an eap-file with a few diagrams (at least one package with two diagrams) and list the ea-guids.

I use as guid-search this query:
select * from t_object where ea_guid like '*<Search Term>*'

If I understand you right, then I will find none of your guids with this query.

If I find all and they direct me to the package instead (using control + g as shortcut in resultlist)  - what else do I do wrong? I expect to find this guids only querying t_diagram.
Because whenever I switch from an element or package to a diagram and have properties window open all time, the shown guid either disappears or does not change.

Thanks,
Shegit

modified: more detailed description of my pov.
« Last Edit: Today at 07:54:56 pm by Shegit Brahm »

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7729
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: GUID of a diagram
« Reply #5 on: Today at 08:19:02 pm »
Shegit,

As mentioned before the properties window does not get filled in when you select a diagram in the project browser.
You can however right click on this diagram and select Copy/Paste | Copy Node GUID to clipboard to get the GUID of the diagram.

Geert

PS. I feel uncomfortable with the passive-aggressive tone in your post. :(

Shegit Brahm

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GUID of a diagram
« Reply #6 on: Today at 08:30:51 pm »
Hi Geert,

thanks for your repeat how to get it and I see that my way to get a diagram's guid is broken.

I'm sorry that I made you uncomfortable and I apologize for my tone. Thank you for raising this issue.

(it is based in my personal frustation with wrong usage and "gui bug" - so never ever a reason to get aggressive against you)

Thanks,
Shegit