Author Topic: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options  (Read 335 times)

Zanac

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« on: July 13, 2018, 10:42:52 pm »
Hi,

First, I created a search using the "Search Tool" and exported the search to an XML file on the local drive.

Then I created a Document Template ... Document Options ... Element Filters ... Import Search ... From File ... then I choose the XML file created ... the "Import Search" window appears...

When I click the OK button, the EA crash.

I tried to perform this operation on different machines... always using version 13.

Maybe there needs a template for SQL, like the Except Query to Package... (SELECT t_package.Package_ID AS ExcludePackage...)

Has anyone been able to import a search into "Element Filters" in "Document Options"?
Or can you indicate any material that shows how to do this action correctly???

Best regards,
Zanac
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 11:18:55 pm by Zanac »

Arshad

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2018, 11:18:25 pm »
Hi Zanac

As an alternate solution Please try importing your search directly by opening the search window like below



and try selecting the search from EA option instead of From File .



HTH
Arshad

Sparx Systems India - Services
Profile | Training PlansConsulting

Zanac

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2018, 12:14:10 am »
Hi Arshad,

Thank you for the quick response...

But, I had tried this too...

I saved my search, and imported... but any search does appear in the "Import Search from EA" window list.

In my "Import Search from EA" window... below the label "Select a search to import"... I have only the "Search" header/sorter.

https://i.imgsafe.org/93/932d44440c.jpeg

Did you can show the "Import Search from EA" window with searchs?

What do I need to my searchs to appear in the "Import Search from EA" window list?

Im using a single SQL:
SELECT t_object.Object_ID
FROM t_object
WHERE t_object.Object_ID = 1117

Best regards,
Zanac
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 09:18:33 am by Zanac »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9582
  • Karma: +167/-148
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2018, 02:42:53 am »
Probably you have to report a bug. Use the form from the Support section below.

q.

Arshad

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2018, 01:45:20 pm »
What do I need to my searchs to appear in the "Import Search from EA" window list?

Im using a single SQL:
SELECT t_object.Object_ID
FROM t_object
WHERE t_object.Object_ID = 1117

Best regards,
Zanac



Hi

Copy the above query an paste it in SQL scratch pad , Give a new Search name by selecting the high lightened option like below and save it.

.


Once saved , if you open the Import Search option in element filters , you will find the newly saved search under the list like below



( By default all the saved searches will be listed in the import search ).

HTH
Arshad

Sparx Systems India - Services
Profile | Training PlansConsulting

Zanac

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2018, 04:10:15 pm »
Hi Arshad,

Thank you for your patience ... my project is stopped, waiting for me to solve this problem.

I followed yours steps, but it seems to me that the result produced was another. I ask you to verify my thinking.

"Copy the above query an paste it in SQL scratch pad , Give a new Search name by selecting the high lightened option like below and save it."
https://imgsafe.org/image/9931f3cf72

When I click the indicated button, I'm actually copying the "Simple" Search from the "Common Searches" Folder .... and I'm not creating a search from the inserted SQL.
https://imgsafe.org/image/9933678c62

Actually, as you indicated, the TestSearch will appear in the "Import Search from EA" window.
https://imgsafe.org/image/9933fc22d4

But, the loaded search is not the typed SQL ... it's actually the "Simple" Search
https://imgsafe.org/image/9934a9f39f

Look to the Element... Alias... Name... Notes... its same "Simple" Search (copied to TestSearch when clicked the copy button).
https://imgsafe.org/image/99353b884a

https://imgsafe.org/image/9935e8f87f

==========================

Back to your steps...

"Copy the above query an paste it in SQL scratch pad , Give a new Search name (...)" To creat a search from the inserted SQL, I should click the "Save as New Search" button.
https://imgsafe.org/image/99368d692e

Then the new search was created ... "TestSearch2"
https://imgsafe.org/image/99370c580e

But the new search "TestSearch2" does not appear in the "Import Search from EA" window.
https://imgsafe.org/image/9937de4600

==========================

Is this my analysis correct?

Does the EA only allow the user to perform "Elements Filter" from search builted through the "Query Builder"???

Best regards,
Zanac
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 04:13:56 pm by Zanac »

Nizam

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 301
  • Karma: +9/-2
  • Model Sharing - Simplified
    • View Profile
    • Professional Model Collaboration
Re: EA crash when use "Import Search" in Document Options
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2018, 09:20:34 pm »
Does the EA only allow the user to perform "Elements Filter" from search builted through the "Query Builder"???

YOu have to creat a new search of type 'SQL Editor' and then type your query in the 'Query Builder'.

All other steps that Arshad has mentioned are to just create a new search in your machine.
FWIW - the searches are stored in  %appdata%\Sparx Systems\EA\Search Data\EA_Search.xml