Author Topic: Source-ID is not imported from DOORS database ?!  (Read 812 times)

simonspaten

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Source-ID is not imported from DOORS database ?!
« on: September 13, 2013, 12:31:19 am »
I have successfully imported DOORS requirements into EA via the MDG-Link for DOORS, too. I thought that the MDG-Link would transfer every information (belonging to a certain requirement) located in the DOORS-Database but it seems that I was wrong. I imported requirements via the MDG-Link and everything went right during the process, but when I looked at the (imported) properties I realized, that the “Object Identifier” was copied and not the expected “Source –ID”, which only is traceable through the hole developing process. So the problem would be a possible inconsistence in case of changes to the original database in DOORS. This of course is a “no way- criteria” due to a possible implementation of the EA to our developing process. So my question referring to this issue is: “Why does the MDG-Link for DOORS import the “Object Identifier” and not the “Source-ID” of an requirement and how can I fix that”?

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 884
  • Karma: +37/-1
    • View Profile
Re:  Source-ID is not imported from DOORS database
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 01:26:30 am »
Hi,

I used the DOORS MDG some years ago.

As far as I remember stores EA the DOORS ID into a tagged value. There is a configuration dialog to define the mapping between DOORS attributes and EA Tagged Values.

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

simonspaten

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  Source-ID is not imported from DOORS database
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2013, 06:58:36 pm »
Thanks for the reply, but is there a possibility to get more detailed information? Because I couldn`t find such configuration dialog to change certain settings to enable the EA to import the source ID out of DOORS.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8967
  • Karma: +136/-123
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re:  Source-ID is not imported from DOORS database
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2013, 07:08:33 pm »
IIRC it's described in the help. Like Helmut my experience with that add-in lies back some years in the past.

q.