Author Topic: the Show Features in Diagram dialog  (Read 919 times)

Pavel Bunygin

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« on: September 26, 2013, 08:45:38 pm »
Hello!
Does anyone know a table where EA stores info concerning attributes that were checked in  the "Show Features in Diagram" dialog?

I could find only that EA adds "AttCustom=1" to ObjectStyle of DiagramObject...

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 08:58:08 pm »
Not sure, have you checked t_xref?

Geert

Pavel Bunygin

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 09:43:18 pm »
Quote
Not sure, have you checked t_xref?

Geert

Yes, but I wasn't able to find them here.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2013, 10:16:39 pm »
It's listed in my Inside book chap 10.12

q.

Pavel Bunygin

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2013, 03:33:41 am »
Quote
It's listed in my Inside book chap 10.12
Any free help? ;)

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2013, 07:40:30 am »
I can't easily copy/paste since it's a table in PDF format. If you need a specific field I can tell you where to find it.

q.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/48ki8s3hg3w6nqf/Screenshot%202013-09-26%2023.44.58.PNG
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 07:46:39 am by qwerty »

Pavel Bunygin

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2013, 05:18:36 pm »
I need a field that stores this flag so I can select checked attributes:

It's  great if your book has this info.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2013, 07:52:44 pm »
I see. Currently I haven't included that info. But I will add it.

q.

[edit] Obviously some new voodoo. t_diagram.styleex is amended with something like SPL=S_566CE9=0F67F5:; (for a single suppressed attribute). I'll have to find out how the coding is done.

[edit2]It appears that 566CE9 are the first bytes of the according object GUID and 0F67F5 are those of the attribute GUID.

I'll make a couple more tests. Wondering whether the first 6 bytes are enough to make it unique in all cases?! Will try to create objects with identical GUID start codes and see what happens.

[edit3] Ha! Of course it fails if the GUIDs are not unique within the first 6 chars. Admittedly the GUIDs were forced to be unique manually. Probably it is very unlikely that you have non-unique combinations of object/attribute (or operation) GUID starts. But now it's clear that EA takes always the first 6 bytes of object and attribute/operation and supplies these as colon-separated list in the SPL tag in StyleEx.

I will document that in the next release of my Inside book.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 09:00:41 pm by qwerty »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2013, 10:49:36 pm »
The above shown Feature and Compartment Visibility has a Type compartment (which obviously only works for Port/Part). But a Port does not have the  Feature and Compartment Visibility in the context menu?! Does anyone have an idea where this option is available?

q.

Pavel Bunygin

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 11:36:36 pm »
Thank you!
But it an example of the bad design of EA architecture )))

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2013, 11:40:57 pm »
Quote
Thank you!
But it an example of the bad design of EA architecture )))
That's easy. Now try find an example of good design. That is really challenge :-X

Geert

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re:  the Show Features in Diagram dialog
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2013, 05:00:50 am »
Don't the forum rules prohibit the use of sarcasm  :-?

q.